Month: December 2012

  • Menu Plan Monday: December 31st Edition

    MPM-Winter

    Menu Plan Monday
    December 30th- January 13th

     

    Sunday 30th - Thai Thighs, Ramen Noodles, Apple Peanut Cole Slaw

    Monday 31st – Appetizers – Chicken Wings/ Parmesan Potato Wedges/ (good add to site) Apple Peanut Cole Slaw/

    Tuesday 1st – Prime Rib, Smashed Red Potatoes (Simple & Delicious Cookbook -Pg 157 – Add to Site), California Blend Veggies

    Wednesday 2nd – Wild Rice & Vegetable Beef Soup (Biggest Book of Soups & Stews -page 326 – Good add to site)

    Thursday 3rd – Pork Chow Mein - (New Taste of Home Cookbook –  page 173) (good – Double recipe for our family)

    Friday 4th – Hot Dogs and Hamburgers – French Fries  and Secret Sauce

    Saturday 5th – Chunky Potato & Ham Chowder – (Biggest Book of Soups & Stews – page 170)

    Sunday 6th – Roasted Chicken in Dutch Oven,  Corn and Mashed Potatoes (good)

    Monday 7th - Lazy Lasagna – Garlic Bread

    Tuesday 8th - Creamy Prosciutto Pasta - Garlic Bread (good)

    Wednesday 9th – Breaded Pork Chops (Simple & Delicious Cookbook -Pg 20), Creamy Italian Noodles, The Frugal Girl’s Roasted Carrots (excellent, Carrots!!)

    Thursday 10th – Chicken Risotto, Vegetable

    Friday 11th – Fish and Chips

    Saturday 12th – (Grocery Day) – Left Overs

    Sunday 13th – Old Fashioned Beef Stew – (Biggest Book of Soups & Stews - page 250)

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie. and participate in Menu Plan Monday.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week!!!

    Happy Cooking!!

     

    Recipes to Try:

    Instant Oatmeal Packets

    French Toast Sticks

    Valentine’s Thin Mints

     

  • MPM-Winter

    Menu Plan Monday
    December 21st – December 28th

     

    Friday – BBQ Nachos

    Saturday – Coymas – amazing food by Dan Miller!!! – my contribution, 7 Layer Salad and Caesar Salad

    Sunday – Thai Thighs, Ramen Noodles, Apple Peanut Cole Slaw

    Monday – Christmas Eve – Appetizers

    Deviled Eggs
    Oriental Chicken Wings
    Meat Balls
    Artichoke Dip
    Christmas Cheese Ball & Crackers

    Tuesday – Christmas Morning – Blueberry French Toast Bake, Spinach Bacon Quiche, Canadian Bacon and Cantaloupe

    Christmas Day – Pork Crown Roast, Stuffing, Green Bean Casserole and Brussel Sprouts

    Wednesday – Left Overs?/ Bacon Cheeseburger Pizzza, Tator Tots

    Thursday – Crispy Baked Tilapia, Roasted Asparagus/Brussel Sprouts/ Baked Potato

     

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie. and participate in Menu Plan Monday.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week!!!

    Happy Cooking!!

  • Merry Christmas – 2012

     

    EK_0070 

     

    From our family to yours……. Merry Christmas!!

     

     

  • Menu Plan Monday: December 17th Edition

    MPM-Winter

    Menu Plan Monday
    December 1st – December 16th

     

    I am only planning a weeks worth of meals this time.  My plan over the Christmas week is to complete a pantry/freezer challenge in preparation of buying 1/2 of a pig with a friend.   Since I am on vacation over Christmas, I will have time to cook and plan meals to use up everything in the freezers!

    Monday – Crispy Baked Tilapia, Roasted Asparagus/Brussel Sprouts/ Baked Potato

    Tuesday – Shepherd’s Pie, Buttery Baby Carrots

    Wednesday – Italian Steak Salad Garlic Toast

    Thursday – Bacon Cheeseburger Pizzza, Tator Tots

    Friday – BBQ Nachos

    Saturday – Coymas – amazing food by Dan Miller!!!

    Sunday – Thai Thighs, Ramen Noodles, Apple Peanut Cole Slaw

    **All meals this week are from Emeals – Aldi Classic Family Plan #459

     

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie. and participate in Menu Plan Monday.

    What is on your Menu this week? Wishing you all a wonderful week!!!

    Happy Cooking!!

  • A Week of Random Act of Christmas Kindness

    RACK banner_thumb[5]

     
    We continue to perform Random Acts of Christmas Kindness, but I can’t seem to find time to blog about them.   We were not always able to complete the act we had planned, but always found something that we could do to bless someone each and every day!
     
    Acts of Christmas Kindness this week include:
     
    Drive Thru Difference – paid for the lunch of the car behind us at Wendy’s drive through.  It took a bit to convince the drive thru employee this was what we wanted to do!  He said to us, “What do I tell the guy??”  Hubby and I looked at each other and said, “Merry Christmas!”
     
    Shoveling – I will admit this Random Act was completely done by my hubby and sons while I was in bed.  Hubby and the boys went to the church at 6:45am to shovel before the congregation and I came to service!   We experienced a big snow storm in Minnesota and had about 14 inches of snow during that storm.  There was ALOT of shoveling going on!
     
    Treats to church staff – we are blessed with wonderful church staff and brought them treats one morning to let them know how much we appreciate them.
     
    Our furnace needed repair, so of course we blessed the repairman with homemade caramels!  It was cute, he said as I gave them to him, “My grandfather used to make caramels.”  It was nice to remind him of that memory!
     
    Treats and notes of encouragement to friends!  We are blessed with such amazing people in our lives.  It was a great time to remind them how wonderful they are.  We hope we brightened their days.
     
    Generous tip to the Jimmy John’s delivery man.   I order Jimmy Johns about once a month and have it delivered to my office.   I usually have the same delivery man, so this time I gave him a 100%+ tip.  He started to give me change and I said, “Keep the Change”.   He looked at me and said in disbelief, “Are you serious??”   I told him, “Yes, Merry Christmas”   I can’t tell you how many people meet kindness with disbelief.  
     
    Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 14
     
    Today is such a sad day, that I felt the need to bless others with my youngest son!
     
    004
     
    Our first stop was at Festival to buy two small poinsettias.   We took these to St John’s hospital and gave them to the head nurse to give to patients she felt needed a little brightening of their day!
     
    001 
    Next stop – Maplewood Mall
    Tommy and I armed ourselves with Coloring books, Crayons and Matchbox cars. We went to the play area near the food court and gave out gifts to families/children there.   We would ask the parents if we could give their child a gift as a random act of kindness.   All said, “yes”.  I was happy to empty our bag as it was HEAVY!  
     
    I found it interesting that one Dad asked me, “What church are you with??”   Hmmm…did we have to be Christians to be doing nice things?   Well, of course we are,and I told which church we attended but I did find the question interesting.   I explained to him that my family is trying to do a Random Act of Kindness each day to shift our focus this Christmas from receiving to giving.  We want to teach our son about compassion, generosity and the true meaning of Christmas.  
     
    Another Dad asked us if we were sure we wanted to give his little girl the coloring book.  Of course we did!!  Merry Christmas dear families – hug those little ones near as they are such blessings.
     
     
    005
    We had quarters that we used to fill all the little kid candy machines.  While we were filling them two little boys came up and I pointed out to them that there were already quarters in the machines and they should turn the knob!  Oh, the smiles those quarters produced!!  I was impressed that they each turned only two, as every machine had quarters in them!
     
    006
     
    We had a few quarters left so we taped the exact change to the pop machines too!   I will admit we got a few weird looks, but we have never prided ourselves on being normal!
     
    If being kind is not normal……we don’t want to be normal!
     
     
     
    We hope your Christmas season is filled with peace & joy! 

    Merry Christmas!!

    The Coyan Family – Lighting up WBL with Kindness

    light%20em%20up_logo_fin_url

     
  • Menu Plan Monday: December 1st Edition

     

    MPM-Winter

     Menu Plan Monday
     December 1st – December 16th

    So happy I renewed my subscription to Emeals.com, just in time for the holidays.  I really don’t have time for menu planning, but can’t function without them during the holidays.  Thankfully with Emeals, I planned my menu in record time!

    Week #1

    Saturday, 1st- (Feed My Starving Children) – Meatball Subs (Aldi 457)

    Sunday, 2nd - (The Story) – Pork Chops and Rice

    Monday, 3rd - (working late) – Meatloaf, Baked Potato and Vegetable

    Tuesday, 4th -  Ham Spinach Frittata,  (Aldi 457) Bacon and Toast

    Wednesday, 5th - (working late) – Slow Cooked Chicken and Potatoes, Green Beans, Crescent Rolls (Aldi 458)

    Thursday, 6th - (Cake pops) – Grilled Cheese and Noodle Soup

    Friday, 7th - (bell ringing) – Pizza

    Saturday, 8th - Mexican Chicken Skillet (Aldi 457) Rice and Corn

    Sunday 9th- (Cookie Party) – Appetizers

    Blt Bites

    Cheesy Olive Snacks

    Paul’s Stuffed Mushrooms

    Buffalo Chicken Dip

    Shrimp/Cocktail Sauce

    Jen’s Hot Cocoa

     

    Week #2

    Monday, 10th - Creamy Pesto Ravioli, Tomato Salad Toss (Aldi 458)

    Tuesday, 11th – Italian Club Sandwich, Banana Yogurt Parfaits (Aldi 458)

    Wednesday, 12th – Greek Pasta Salad, Whole Rye Bread (Aldi 458)

    Thursday, 13th – Santa Fe Soup, English Muffins (Aldi 458)

    Friday, 14th – Pan Seared Smoked Sausage, Corn, Honey n’ Biscuits, Applesauce (Aldi 458)

    Saturday, 15th – Company Chicken, Rice and Green Beans (Aldi 456)

    Sunday, 16th – Beef Tips and Gravy over Egg Noodles with Vegetable (Aldi 456)

     

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie. and participate in Menu Plan Monday.

    What is on your Menu this week? Wishing you all a wonderful week!!!

     

    Happy Cooking!!

     

     

     

  • Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 8

    RACK banner_thumb[5]

    Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 8

    Taking my Father In Law to visit our friends at Oak Ridge Place with treats!

     

    Oak Ridge Place is an assistive living in Stillwater.  My inlaws lived there for about 18 months.  The staff was wonderful so we wanted to thank them and let them know that we have not forgotten their kindness.   It was important to our family to have my mother in law live with her husband again, if only for a short time.   A special thanks to Oak Ridge and their compassionate staff for helping that to happen. 

    004

    Hubby helping to make treat packets! 

    010

    Treats for staff and residents of Oak Ridge Place.   Tommy handed out treats to each resident at Oak Ridge Place.   They were all so appreciative.  We hope they felt blessed today….I know we did!

    012 

    A lovely lunch with friends…

    014

    Friends and the wonderful staff at Oak Ridge Place.

    015

    For a special treat, Margaret played the piano for an impromptu caroling session.

    016

    The biggest blessing of today…..is my Father-in-law saying afterwards in the car, “I am glad I came!”

    We hope that you find God’s love and blessings in your life this holiday season and throughout the new year!

    Merry Christmas!!

    The Coyan Family – Lighting up WBL with Kindness

    light%20em%20up_logo_fin_url

  • Random Act of Christmas: Day 7

    RACK banner_thumb[5]

     

    Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 7

    Ringing the Bell for Salvation Army

    001

    002

    And why I love my husband……he makes everything FUN!!  Even when I rather not be outside freezing, my hubby makes me smile by singing Blue Christmas!  Singing really did help us keep warm….I am sure we sounded terrible.   But everyone loved hubby’s Blue Christmas. 

     

     

     

    I hope that you and your family will choose to Light ‘Em Up with us!

    Merry Christmas!!

    The Coyan Family – Lighting up WBL with Kindness

    light%20em%20up_logo_fin_url

  • Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 6

    RACK banner_thumb[5]

    Life is strange sometimes or I should say, everything happens for a reason. I was on a home visit today for work and a mother asked me about Christmas Toy Programs. I let her know that I was not sure if the deadline had passed or not, but I will check and call her later today.

    As I drive back to my office, I find myself thinking of a Christmas that I have often thought of, when I went to such a Christmas Program. It was so meaningful that I still remember to this day one of gifts my son received and that was nearly 20 years ago. He received a stuffed Dalmatian puppy, which he loved. I remember getting the gifts and being so grateful to have assistance that year. But I also remember the embarassment and shame I felt.   

    I never really felt poor; we had a roof over our heads, food and love! I adored my little guy and spent time playing with him and just being with him. He was my world. I felt like we had everything we needed. I was attending college and working hard for a better life for us, which with a lot of work and prayer happened for us. I am grateful for our humble beginnings; they have shaped everything about me. Without those experiences I would not be the person I am today. The person I was meant to be, though I am sure God is not done with me yet.

    When I get back to my desk….I have an email waiting for me stating that today is the last day to register for the Salvation Army Christmas Toy Program. I let a very happy mom know how to apply and smile at how things seem to happen for a reason.

    So today I am thankful for my life and find it interesting that today’s Random Act of Christmas Kindness is to donate to the Toys for Tots program.
     
    Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 6

    001

     

    We hope that you find God’s love and blessings in your life this holiday season and throughout the new year!

    Merry Christmas!!

    The Coyan Family – Lighting up WBL with Kindness

    light%20em%20up_logo_fin_url

     

  • Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 5

    RACK banner_thumb[5]

     
    Random Act of Christmas Kindness: Day 5

    Leave a note and gift for the mailman to show appreciation.

     

    001

    001

     

    I hope that you and your family will choose to Light ‘Em Up with us!

    Merry Christmas!!

    The Coyan Family – Lighting up WBL with Kindness

    light%20em%20up_logo_fin_url