Month: May 2002

  • Tommy was up at 3:00am......and layed in our bed with us and kicked, talked and goofed around till morning.  Hmmmmm...well at least he wasn't screaming. 


    I am so glad this is the last day of the work week........I am so tired.   I am working late tonight and won't get home until like 8:00.  Argh..........but then it is the weekend and oh do I have laundry to do!

  • YEAH!!!!!!  Tommy is better and sleeping through the night again!  He slept great last night, here is hoping the same happens tonight.  I woke up this morning to rush in to make sure he was ok.  He was fine....just catching up on his ZZZZZZ as well. 


    Then we went out to garage sales with Daddy for a bit.  Usual Thursday stuff to do.  I did find one sale where I bought a bunch of clothes size 2t for Tommy.   They had all name brand stuff, Hilfiger, Old Navy and Gymboree.  I think I have most of his clothes for this coming winter all bought. 


    This afternoon my parents came to go to Josh's concert at school.  That was nice.   Josh did a nice job.   Tommy did fine at the concert.  Then we came home and played a bit and both boys are sleeping now. 


    I had a very nice surprise in my inbox this evening.   A very nice letter from Josh's math teacher about his abilities in math and computers.  She gave him a hard equation today, different than the other children and he figured it out.   She was very impressed.  He is really getting into algebra, sad to say he has passed me up.  I don't remember a lick a algebra.   Josh is very unmotivated, but very intelligent.  It has always been so difficult to manage.  If he does an assignment he gets an A, otherwise he gets an F since he either forgets to do the assignment, or doesn't hand it in or whatever.  I printed out the email and put it on the kitchen table for Josh to read................he will like that, usually I am print out ones from the teacher saying he didn't do something. 


    Well I am off to see how Tommy is doing, while I was writing this he woke up screaming.........;-(

  • DR APPOINTMENT.........


    Now I feel terrible that I didn't make an appointment and take Tommy in yesterday.  He has his first ear infection (both ears).  Poor little man, he has been dealing with teething, constipation and a dual ear infection.   I wouldn't sleep either. 


    I had his script filled immediately and got his first dose into him already.  Hubby stayed home from school today with him.   I wish I could be home with him. 


    I am impressed that this is his first infection since Josh had numerous infections much earlier, starting at like 2 months I believe.  


    So hopefully we are all going to be getting better and sleeping more now with the benefits of amoxicillian. 

  • THE WALKING DEAD............


    ok...I should have went to bed last night as soon as Tommy fell asleep.  I headed to bed and as soon as I feel asleep he woke up.  It was around 1:30am and he was screaming or fussy or some state in between until at least 4:00.  And the alarm went off at 6:00 am.  I made a Dr appointment this morning at 8:50 for Tommy so we will do that quick before I have to be at my 10:00 meeting. 


    Tommy is sleeping again he just woke up at 7:00, but fell back asleep in Daddies arms.   I need to grab a quick shower and get him to the Dr.


    Argh...long day at work today with two major meetings on little or no sleep.   I can't do this much longer.    I am amazed I am still functioning at all.


    BTW, I actually alternated Motrin and Tylenol throughout the night, and I think this was the worse night we have had for him sleeping and crying.  Maybe he had too much medicine???  I have no idea anymore. 

  • TEETHING WOES CONTINUE................


    I love xanga.  It is so wonderful to sound off on here and get all this great advice to try from all these mom's that have been there.  I took all your advise and went out and bought Tommy some Motrin for him tonight.  I gave it to him at around, 9:30 and hubby took him and fed him a few more ounces of formula.  Of course Tommy pukes all over him.  So I gave Tommy another 1/2 dose of meds since I figured he puked most of it up.  I am not sure if that is part of the teething or if my hubby is over feeding him or what, but Tommy has puked on him three times in 2 days.  If this continues I think I will end up taking Tommy into the Dr on Thursday just to make sure this is just teething. 


    Tommy signed milk tonight again for me, this time while he was drinking.  I did introduce the sign for eat this evening while feeding him his pears.  So hopefully that will be our next sign.   Now I just have to teach it to hubby and get him in the habit of signing it. 


    It is now 11:05 here in MN, and the teething monster that possesses my baby hasn't not come to visit yet.  YEAH!!  I hope this is a good sign.   You all might be right and Motrin is the cure!!


    E-BAY


    Well I have successfully completed my first auction on E-bay.  I had a number of items that didn't sell at the garage sale, that I really thought should have.  So I did an auction on E-bay.  It really is pretty easy.    I sold 15 ventaire bottles and a bottle drainer.   I made more money on them on E-bay then I had them marked at the garage sale.  I have one other auction left that ends tonight for a couple of baby Gap outfits I have.   They also are already at more than what I had them marked at the garage sale.  I hope to get a chance to get a few more summer outfits of Tommy's out there and some summer maternity dresses and capris I have. 


    Of course I am about breaking even on E-Bay since I have bought a couple of Tommy Hilfiger outfits for the boys with my earnings.  LOL!!  I guess that is the point for me, sell the boys clothes to get more that fit them. 


    I am off to list a few books on half.com for my mom.....hope we ALL have a restful night!   I promise I will make my rounds soon.  Not much free time lately!   Hope everything is great with all of you!


    Welcome to my new subscriber, Zvanoizu!

  • Another night of little sleep.   Tommy wakes up every 3 1/2 hours screaming.   Argh.   As soon as the Tylenol wears off.  He is terribly crabby this morning, but I think he will stay home with Daddy and I will still go to work.   I will be home alone with Tommy all night since Paul has school. 


    I am totally convinvce Tommy is signing now.  Last night I had him in bed with me and he had been changed, oral gel  and tylenol and was still not happy.   Finally he looked right at me, signed milk and off we went to get a bottle.  He did want it.   It was the best sign I have seen him make.   It is very cool.


    I can't wait for these last two teeth to finally break through.  Argh.  This is so hard on the little guy.   Well I am off to see if I can comfort him a bit before I leave for work.

  • Tommy update..........


    Today wasn't much better.  Today involved changing his clothes at least 5 times.  He puked a number of times, all over Daddy each time.   He still doesn't seem to be feeling too well.   I think he has taken care of the constipation today.  But the teething will be a problem for a bit yet.    He is usually so good, so it is difficult when he cries all day, you just feel terrible for him, since you know this isnt' how he normally is.


    On the interesting note, I have to share this.  I think maybe Tommy is sorta signing milk??  He has done it three times now and today it seemed like he was doing it again.   So maybe this signing things isn't a total waste.  LOL!!    I haven't introduced any other signs, but might start a few others since he seems to get that the sign and the object are associated.   I think I will start trying to sign eat and drink (for his cup).   I have to remember to have Paul let Bonnie know about the signing since Tommy is going there two days a week to be cared for.  Tommy is at my SIL's daycare center for about 8 hours a week for the next month, since Paul has a day class. 


    Well I am off to fold my last load of laundry and go to bed.  I have a feeling I will be getting up a number of times tonight.   Unlesss it might finally  be Paul's turn????  

  • Another night of little sleep.  Tommy woke up a number of times.  He still spikes a fever at night and needs Tylenol and is congested.  Last night he started coughing and choking on all the junk.  It really scared me.  


    He seems fine now again.  ..................

  • Hello............


    It feels like I have fallen off the face of the earth!  I have a ton of entries to read!  I can't believe you guys let your lives continue without me......LOL!! 


    The garage sale went ok.  I got rid of some stuff and made around $200.00.   I did take a few of the things and am selling them on Ebay.  I have already got a bid on each auction so I will be selling those for sure.  I hope to get one more auction up again tomorrow.  And yes, of course I did by a few Tommy Hilfiger outfits for Tommy.   It is too cute to have little shirts that say Tommy when his name IS Tommy. 


    It was great having my mother with us for a week.  It was so nice for her to spend time with Tommy.  I want him to know his grandparents.  Speaking of Tommy he is doing well.   He is growing like a weed and loves to eat and jump!     Hubby bought him a Johnny Jump up thing at a garage sale the other day.  That has been the hit of the century.  He just laughs out loud and jumps, jumps, and jumps.   Last night he had a rough night.  I think it was a combination of constipation and teething.  He cried in the evening and night, which is very rare.   he seems to be better tonight and is sleeping now fine.   Tommy he has a couple of new tricks.  He can now get his socks off in a blink of an eye and take Daddy's glasses right off his face just as fast.   He is also getting really good at sitting up!  


    I am using this weekend to catch up on a few things around the house.  We had been so busy getting ready for the garage sale that things went undone.   I made some babyfood today, apricots and asparagus.  I also grounded some brown rice and millet to make the super baby porridge.  Tommy isn't too sure about that. 


    What I'm Reading...............................


    Well I started a different book, sorry to say I gave up on Grange House, the book selection for my BookMoms group.  My attention just isn't what it used to be.   I am now reading When the Elephants Dance by Tess Uriza Holthe.  It is pretty interesting the little I have read so far.  The novel takes place during the waning days of World War II when the Japanese and the Americans engaged in a battle over the possession of Philippine Islands. 


    I am also listening to Larry's Party by Carol Shields while driving to work.  It is ok.......not too far into it yet. 


    Let's see I have finished reading "Expecting Adam".  That was enjoyable and an easy read, just what I need lately. 


    I actually bought a book, which is rare for me.  I am too cheap, always use the library now.  I decided I wanted to read the "Reading with Ripa" Bookclub selection from Regis and Kelly.  It is suppose to be fun, light frivolous reading........just want I can handle.  The book is If Looks Could Kill by Kate White.  I ordered the book from Half.com and haven't gotten it yet.


    I am not sure I mentioned this book to you guys, but I got this book for Tommy that has 260 weekly developmental Activities from Birth to Age 5.  We have been doing those.  The book is called Slow and Steady Get Me Ready by June R. Oberlander.  This weeks activity involved crumpling newspaper, Tommy LOVED THAT!!  He wants to do it all the time now.


    Well I am of to read a sentence or two and fall to sleep mid sentence!  LOL!  night all!!    

  • We are busy around here. We are getting ready to go to SD this weekend for my nieces graduation from college.   My mom is luckily coming home with us after the graduation and staying until the following weekend.  YEAH!!!    We didn't have anyone to care for Tommy so this is a huge help to us.   Plus we never get to see her enough and it is Josh's birthday and our garage sale.


    We have been busy getting ready for the neighborhood garage sale.  We have 8 families participating.   I plan on spending next week getting ready for that in the evening.


    On the Friday Josh wants to have 6 friends stay over night for his b-day...ARGH!!  busy, busy busy.......Plus we will have a family party on Saturday!


    Well I need to scoot and do my one hour of cleaning before Tommy wakes up from his nap.