Month: February 2003

  • Tommy had fun at his Teddy Bear Tea party at daycare.   He likes scones!   LOL!!   He said a new word today....."eyes" as he points at Mommy's eyes.  Ya have to watch out for those little pointing fingers though. 


    I was  good girl today and only worked my 4 hours.  I wasn't feeling too well so I headed home.  I took a afternoon nap and seemed to do better after that.   I am still on the mend that is for sure.   My sister and her hubby are planning on coming to visit this weekend.  I doubt I will be out doing much with them since I am still recovering, but it will be nice to visit anyways. 


    THURSDAY ACCOMPLISHED:



    • Took an afternoon nap!
    • Finished the last of Monday's Errand List
    • Cooked a meal for supper (Tator Tot Hotdish)
    • Put some laundry away
    • Organized the Pantry Shelf in Laundry
    • Finally put all groceries away from Sunday shopping
    • Reconciled Checking Account
    • Paid Bills

    FRIDAY TO DO:


  • Make Menu
  • Take out all Trash
  • Dust
  • Sweep - Kitchen, bathrooms, and entryway
  • Vacuum - living Room
  • Mop
  • Mirrors and Doors

    Supper:  Left Over Tator Tot Hotdish and Salad



    We are each other's harvest...we are each other's magnitude and bond. - Gwendolyn Brooks 

  • Morning....I SLEPT!!  Yeah....I fell asleep around 11:00 and was able to sleep.  What a good thing.  Of Course for some reason Tommy woke up in the middle of the night and came to bed with us.  I slept and held him for part of he night.   I am not sure what was wrong.  But he went back to his bed in a while.  But boy did I havea hard time getting up to get him.


    This morning I slept in a bit late as I don't have to be to work until 10:00.   Daycare just called and this week they are doing the letter T.  Today they are having a Teddy Bear Tea Party so Tommy needs to dress up and bring a Teddy friend.  I LOVE his daycare it is so great.  Plus it is his auntie.....she is just so great with the kids.  Tommy LOVES going there and cried when you come to get him. 


    Well I am off for a mad dash to get ready and out the door in time.  Have a great day.  


    BTW, I think I am finally improving.  I worked almost 7 hours yesterday and I felt pretty good.  I only had to neb once at work and twice at home.  SO the nebs are finally starting to spread out a bit.  I am sure that after a nice relaxing weekend I will be back to myself on Monday!  YEAH!!  Maybe I will be able to finally get my house in order.....it has been weeks!

  • Morning.....not a great sleeping night again.  I thought I had this figured out, but I guess not.  I thought it was the bedtime neb that was keeping me awake for hours, so last night I nebbed at 8:00 early enough for the effects to wear off I thought, plus I took the cough syrup with codiene.   So I should sleep.....I did fall asleep fine at about 11:00, but I was wide awake at 4:00am.  I got up and ate a bit and had a glass of milk.   I layed back down and tried to sleep.  At 5:00 I decided to turn on the lights and work on my New Mom's Committe stuff for church.  I turn the lights off again and try to sleep, I finally gave up at 6:00am and got up for the day.  ARGH!!!  


    So my plan for today is to go into work early actually I guess.   I wasn't goig to go in until my 9:00 am meeting, but I guess I will go to the office, then my two meetings and return home after that.   I am only planning on working a part day again today, maybe 6 hours or so.   So hopefully I will be able to take an afternoon nap.   I am sure this is a side effect of one of the many meds I am currently taking, but I have no idea which one.  Wouldn't matter anyways as I can't not take any of them until I start to improve.  So there you have my whiny little ...I can't sleep problem!!  Can't sleep, can't stop coughing, can't breathe....I am so demanding and whiny *smirk! 


    Let's see...what else...since I have some time here before needing to shower for work.  Hmmmm....yesterday at work went pretty good.  I have taken my extra nebulizer to the office and was able to work longer by nebbing once.  I hope it won't disturb my co-workers, but I really should only have to ever neb once a day at work.  I checked in with my boss today.  She is such a wonderful, supportive person.  Everyone at my work is very accomodating to my being ill, which is such a relief.   But generally I am a very hard worker, so they know I will pull my wieght again once I am better. 


    After I got home from work we went to Joshua's choir concert at school.   I only stayed to watch his songs as I cough so much and didn't want to disturb everyone else.  I was pretty tired anyways.  My SIL was watching Tommy for us at home, so the rest of the evening I just spent playing with Tommy, my neice and nephew and visiting with SIL. 


    TOMMY UPDATE:


    Tommy is feeling better now, finally.  He is doing so many new cute things that i haven't been able to share with you all.  He is just learning so many new things.   He has about 5 songs that he sings a line of or so.  It is really cute.   He does ITsy Bitsy Spider, ABC (says random letters), Barney Song, EIEI (Old MacDonald).  It is so funny.   He is finding out that climbing is great fun.  He fell off the recliner onto his head a couple of days ago.  He isn't signing much anymore, though yesterday he used the sign for Book for the first time.  He is really focusing on talking now.  He says a ton of stuff, though I can't figure out half of it.  He has a 4 piece wooden knob puzzle and he has fingured out how to put it together now.  He love puzzles and stuff like that.  And of course he has a VERY STRONG love for books.   We spend most of our evenings reading stories over and over and over again.    He will bring you a book about every 5 minutes.  We have a row of them on a table in the lving room and he will go over to it and grab one book, look at the cover and decide if that is the one he wants or not.  If not, he whips it onto the floor and looks for the one he wants!   He is a lot of fun right now.  We are all enjoying him so much.  He is just getting this fantastic little personality, very easy goin and loving like his Daddy.  I ordered him a Bible Rhyme book so maybe he will like that and it will be something new for us to read.  He also LVOES ELMO's WORLD.  We check the videos out at the library and will watch one of the litle 15 minute segements every other day or so.  He is always so excited to watch them.   This weekend I am goign to try to tape the segments of Elmo's World off of the TV as he doesn't need to watch the entire show, it really is just Elmo's World that he is into.   We found hime two Elmo World flap books at 1/2 books, so those are a new favorite!  He loves big flap books!!


    Well, Josh just woke up to head to school, so I think it is time for me to get ready for work and head out.   I should make it to the office before 8:00 at this rate.  LOL!!   Just means I can come home earlier, probably a good plan. 


    TO DO WEDNESDAY:



    • Dollar Tree - New Mom Stuff & Albums for Julie

    • Sale Items from Cub

    • Pop From Target

    No Families First this week, so relax at home in the evening. 
     


       

  • OK, Ok...Ok.....Don't worry everyone I barely did anything on my list today!   I am still not myself at all.   I was exhausted by the time I got Tommy dropped off to work and got to my office.  ARGH!!  


    I think Mrs_Ann_A identified me the best in her comments.  I truly am a person who has a hard time just sitting still.  So not being able to do the things I need drives me insane.  But I am taking it easy as the Intensive Care Unit junk was way too scary!  


    So today I went to work, I was there for about 3 hours maybe.  I forgot to bring my nebulizer so I had to head home.  I was exhausting jsut getting there anyways.  I did stop in at the Dollar Tree (my new fav store) before going into my office.  I found some great things for the little education program we are starting with Tommy.  I will discuss when I have more of an idea what I am going to do, but I found these little photo albums for $1.00 that I can put in index cards and make our own books.  Tommy LOVES books, so we make to make some special ones for him of like the things he likes, ELMO, Pics of Family, Pics of animals, etc.  Not sure hubby is so happy with more books..LOL!!   Tommy will bring you a book to read to him about every 5 mintues.  He loves to be read to, so we spend most of our eveings on the floor with a pile of books.  Luckily we went to the library and found a few new ones today.  Mommy and Daddy are going tired of the same books.  He loves Maisy Lift the Flap books and anything Elmo. I also picked up all my Easter Supplies.  I did forget a couple of things, which I will pick up tomorrow. 


    I left work around 1:00 and high tailed it home to Neb.  Then we ran to the bank and library, just in time to get to my Dr appointment at 3:00.  Argh...what a Dr appoint!!   The Dr was running late, she saw us at about 3:30.  She actually was quite surprised that I haven't "turned around".  SHe thought I would be much better by now.  So wait to have blood work to recheck my potassium and then X-ray to see if maybe i have pneumonia now.  Both were fine.  My Dr, who is wonderful and takes such time explaining things to me.  Decided that I should go on an antibiotic jsut in case as I should be getting better.  Also she restarted me on the Predisone pack, back to the original dose and try tapering about.  She gave me more cough syrup with codiene and refilled my nebs.  I still had enough of the other meds.  So she called in the scripts to the clinic pharmacy while I got lab and x-ray done. 


    I go to pick up the scripts and one of the nebs, they don'e carry so they have to order it.  I can't wait as I am totally out of this med.   So Dr says to ask the pharmacy to call the hopsital to see if they have more as that is where I got my first script at discharge.  Well the pharmacy tell me we don't know the number....end of story.  Argh...I go back to the Dr and her nurse calls the hospital and gets my med refilled and says I can pick it up on the way home.  It is now 5:00 and we have to pick up Tommy at daycare and get to the hospital by 6:00 to pick up the meds before they close.  ARGH!!!


    We get Tommy race to the hospital to find they have two different pharmacies there.  Of course i didn't go to the correct one first!  ARGH!!   Needless to say, I got my meds, but what a run around.   We stop at the grocery store to get a deli chicken for supper and get home around 6:30.   What a long Dr ordeal day!!!!


    So I am exhausted and am going in late to work tomorrow and will only work 5 hours or so.  After supper I spent the eveing reading books to Tommy (as always).  Right before bed he was digging in the library bag to get a book and found a Video I had checked out for him.  Elmo's World!!  So he and I curled up in my bed and watch the first little episode before calling it a night.  


    He is now fast asleep and I am heading right to bed now!!   Thanks everyone for stopping by and thinking of me during this difficult time in my life.   I hope to be healthy and myself soon!  

  • Monday morning and back to my regularly scheduled life.....I am returning to work this morning for at least 1/2 a day.  I do have a Dr. Appointment at 3:00 to go to. 


    I didn't sleep very well last night, I think it is all the meds.  I need to neb, take meds and shower and I will be ready to head out.   Takes a while with this meb to get ready as it takes 15 minutes to do each time.   I think I will take my extra Neb machine to work with me, jsut in case today.  I haven't gone more than about 5 hours without nebing. 


    MONDAY TO DO:



    •  Clean Out Fridge (things growing in there from when I was in hospital)

    • Make Menu

    • Photos in Book

    • Change Sheets

    • Take out all Trash
    • Dust
    • Sweep - Kitchen, bathrooms, and entryway
    • Vacuum - living Room
    • Mop
    • Mirrors and Doors

    ERRANDS


  • Dr. Appointment - 3:00

  • Buy Pop At Target

  • Dollar Store

  • Sales Items from Cub and Rainbow

  • Library

  • Cash Check at Bank
  • WE LEFT THE HOUSE!!  YEAH!!!   We ventured out to run a few errands.  We went out for about an hour.  First we went to return the movie we watched last night, "My Big Greek Wedding".   It was ok....today we rented "One Hour Photo".  It was pretty good.    I clipped and organized coupons while we watched the movie.   I am actually all caught up.  I need to look through the ads to see if there are any great deals this week.  Nothing really caught my eye.  One thing I don't like much about coupons is that most of them are for processed stuff.   I try to cook ahead and freeze meals, so just shopping bulk at Sam's is better for me.  I like freeze stuff.  We don't eat canned meat nor vegetables.  I do buy canned carrots for Tommy as he likes those better.   Bread and stuff like that is always cheaper at the thrift stores.  So I clip coupons, but only use a few of them, I suppose every little bit helps.


    Then we went for a Sam's Club run, you know the usual:  milk, diapers, produce, juice, crackers, medicine.  I haven't been to Sam's in like over two weeks and I only spent a bit over 150.00, very good considering I had to buy Claritin D.  Ok....now listen to me bitch a bit.....ARGH!!!   Anyone that knows me knows I try very hard to be frugle and everything.  I am totally upset about Claritin D now being  a over the counter medication.   Have you seen the price of that stuff!!  OH MY!!!  I have been taking it for I bet about 8 years, always covered by my insurance.  Now I have to buy it over the counter.   I bought a 30 tab box at Sam's Club and it's cost was 26.78.  OH MY!!   On my insurance that would have been a 9.00 copay for the script.  Argh...I can't afford that with my allergies, IC and Asthma.  Plus now I am on all these additional meds for my asthma.   I have a Dr. appointment tomorrow so I will ask her if there is another med I could take that would be covered by my insurance.  I can't afford 27.00 a month, plus all my regular co-pays.   My premium and co-pays all went up this year.  Ok...so after I was done at Sam's we went to the pharmacy to pick two of my scripts up.  I looked how much the Claritin D was there and they wanted 9.98 for 5 pills!!   OH MY!!!  That is outrageous. 


    I also stopped at Master Cuts in the mall to get shampoo.  I am a shampoo snob, that is for sure.  I can't stand cheap shampoo my hair gets so dry and icky.   So I do splurge and get more expensive shampoo.   I am going to search around on the net today and see if I can find a cheaper place to order it online from.  There are only a few things I am a snob about, shampoo and foundation (make-up).  the extra on those two items are worth it to me!  


    I love money saving tips...I enjoy going to garage sales with my hubby.   But I can be a snob about some things!

  • Morning -


    I am getting a bit stir crazy in the house these days.   I have not ventured out of the house in over a week.   I am feeling better and better each day, but have ways to go to being myself.   I am sleeping very little.  It might be due to some of the meds (steroids) I am on.  I read last night until about 1:00am and then I woke and slept until about 7:00am.  At 7:00 I got up to neb and use the restroom.   I read a bit while nebing.   I spent the last hour getting all caught up on my SIR list.   That is a first!   I still have a terrible cough and am almost out of the Robitussin with Codeine the hospital gave me. 


    Today I will take it easy for the last day at home.   I will be heading back to work tomorrow for at least 1/2 a day.  I hope to get a few small tasks done around the house. 


    SUNDAY TO DO:



  • Clean Out Fridge (things growing in there from when I was in hospital)
  • Make Menu
  • Organize Coupons
  • Make Dr. Appointment for Tues
  • Refill Meds
  • Put away Mail from the Week
  • Photos in Book
  • Update Calendars & Planner (plan Week)
  • Complete Errand List
  • Mail Birthday Card
  • Check Library Website

    I finished my book, The Lovely Bones last night.  I am not sure what book I will start next.   I suppose I should go take all my meds, shower and dress.  It is still early and Tommy is still asleep, what a good time to get a few things done. 


    Have a great day, I am sure I will be dropping in throughout the day as I am getting so bored!!!   

  • I have made it to a few more sites to get caught up.  I feel like I am starting to get my life back a bit.   I am now going to head to bed and read for a bit before I take my nap.   I still need a couple of naps a day yet. 


    Hubby has done a couple of loads of laundry for me.  Our dining room table it piled high with clean clothes.  I will have to try to put some away later.


    I decided I will spend a total of 1 hour today doing things up and about.   I spent 15 miuntes cleaning up the bathroom a bit after my shower.   That is enough for this morning.  I hope my hubby will sweep the kitchen floor for me as that would be too difficut for me. 


    My 15 Minutes Chores:


    Straighten Bathroom
    Put Clean Clothes Away
    Clean Out Fridge (things growing in there from when I was in hospital)
    Put Dirty Clothes down Laundry Shute


    Don't worry I won't over do it.  I mostly just sit on my butt and cough all day!   LOL!!   Making lists just make me feel like I am in control a bit.  And my life feels way too out of control right now. {Gee am I a bit of a control freak??} 



    Love and respect are the most important aspects of parenting, and of all relationships.  - Jodie Foster

  • Morning.


    I seem to be getting better.  I didn't even need to wake up in the middle of the night to neb last night.   I still plan on taking it easy for the rest of the weekend.   I think the meds are making it difficult for me to sleep.  I was up reading last night until 1:00am and awake again for the day by 9:00.  I am reading the book, Lovely Bone by Alice Sebold.   I am really enjoying it, it is written in a very interesting manner.  I have been able to finish a couple of books since I have been ill.   I finished, Street Lawyer and The Plain Truth. 


    The Flylady would be proud of me, I have been getting up and showering everyday.  I even get out of my PJ's daily.   I have not been able to pick up or do any chores, but hubby has been keeping the house somewhat presentable.  Man, do I love that guy!!!


    I am not sure what today has in store for me.  Maybe put the laundry away,  Make menus,  Put photos in album, plan next week, read my book.  Mostly things I can do just sitting around. 


    Maybe I can get over and visit all of you as well in xangaland.  Chat at ya Later!!  

  • Found a great site I would love to share.   It is a bit old for Tommy yet, but looks like fun.  They do have a curriculm for 3 to 12 months.   It looks like a lot of fun!   I might try and adapt the Age 2 for him.   I like the idea of doing themes and reading books regarding it, etc.......


    http://www.letteroftheweek.com

  • Ostara

    Recent Posts

    Recent Comments

    Categories