Month: May 2005

  • Still plugging away...I jsut turned in the last of my budgets that are due tomorrow.  WHEW!    They are forming these different work groups at my work.  I didn't volunteer to be on one....I figured it was time others step up and do it.   I have been on quite a few already, developing policies, etc....I like that.  My emphasis in graduate school was administration and policy.   Today I was approached to join one of the teams.......I agreed to do it.   They needed one more child social worker and wanted me to do it.   Hopefully it isn't too much of a time commitment.    Oh...and I won't work Fridays....I have been holding my ground on that.  


    Well back to the next thing on my to do list!!   OOPs...I am starting on tomorrow's to do list already....I am productive today!  That feels great.

  • "Believe in yourself and there will come a day when others will have no choice but to believe with you."

  • Just finishing up my supper....I took a quick walk before eating since it looked like it would rain again.   Not much else going on....hubby called and he is working late tomorrow night, 7:00 until 10:00 and Thursday he has a church meeting...so I won't see much of him until we have our day off together on Friday.   I am looking forward to that.  


    Time to get back to work...have a great day!

  • YAWN.....it is going to be a long day today!  I finally fell back to sleep at 5:00 and my alarm went off at 5:30.  I hit the snooze for a while and ended up turning it off and over slept.  OOPS!!!   So instead of working my 12 hour day today....I will only be able to get 10 hours in.  OH WELL>....I will work more the other two days.   I think I might end up bringing some work home on the weekend and get my 40 hours in. 


    It is a short week....gotta love those!  I only have to work 3 days this week.  That is really nice.   Thursday I have to drive down to Rochester again so I will be out of the office alot.  YEAH....great drive to listen to books on tape.  I jsut got a new one from the library on Saturday.  


    I ate a quick lunch today and took a mile walk.  I remembered to bring my tennis shoes to work.  I leave in my car and then change to go for my walk.  It worked out pretty good.   I didn't count my points over the weekend, but I know I didn't go very well.  We ate out twice, went to the movie and I love popcorn there, and went to a BBQ at friends from church's house.  So I better try to exercise and count points before my weigh in on Monday.  Since it was a holiday on Monday we didn't ahve WW as I go to an at work series.  So it will be two weeks since my last weigh in. 


    MONDAY - FREE DAY – WORK LATE


    MISSION :  Hot Spot - LIving Room (TOY SHELF)
     Laundry - Towels 
    Bed Time Routine






    TUESDAY – FREE DAY –WORK LATE
    MISSION:  Detailed Vacuum (Living Room)
    Laundry – Lights
    Bed Time Routine






    WEDNESDAY - DESK/ ZONE
    MISSION:
    15- De-Clutter
    Anti - Pro Item :
    Fin. Home Blessing
    Laundry - Darks
    Bed Time Routine


    Home - regular Time




    THURSDAY - WEEKLY CLEANING
    MISSION:
    15- De-Clutter
    Cat Litter/Brush Cats
    Laundry - Sheets
    Errands
    Bed Time Routine

    Travel out of Town for Work






    FRIDAY - GROCERIES/ERRANDS.
    MISSION:
    15- De-Clutter
    Clean Furnace Filter
    Purse Boogie
    Car Boogie
    Laundry- Socks/underwear
    Tom to Preschool
    Bed Time Routine


    OFF - Hubby and I






    SATURDAY -
    15- De-Clutter
    Laundry – Tom’s
    Bed Time Routine






    SUNDAY - 
    15- De-Clutter
    Church
    Plan for next week
    Iron Clothes for the week
    Lay out Tom's Clothes for week
    Bed Time Routine

  • Just my luck.....Tommy went to bed at 9:00 and was sound asleep shortly after that.   I went to bed to read and fell asleep quickly, but now at 3:00am I am wide awake and Tommy is still in his bed.  ARGH!!!!    If it isn't Tommy waking me....it is me not being able to sleep.  

  • Home from our friends house....had a lovely time.   Tommy is pretty tired so I am hoping he will go to sleep right away.  I am going to go to bed myself and read for a bit......hope everyone had a great weekend!!!   

  • Enjoying a quiet day at home.....hubby didn't want to go to the BBQ since he is enjoying the quiet of the day.  But it will be fun.   I still have the basement to clean up, but other than that I am done!   I hope to read for a bit outside if I can get Tommy to stay in his room for his nap.  

  • Salads made for the BBQ....


    GARBANZO BEAN SALAD


    *hubby says is like eating in a restaurant!!  GOOD!


    2 cans (15 ounces each) garbanzo beans or chickpeas, rinsed and drained
    1/2 cup chopped sweet onions
    1/2 cup whole ripe olives, halved
    1/4 cup chopped sweet red pepper
    1/4 cup chopped green pepper
    1 celery rib, chopped
    1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
    1/2 cup olive oil
    3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
    2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
    1 tablespoon sugar
    1/4 teaspoon onion powder
    1/8 teaspoon dried basil
    Dash dried oregano


    In a bowl, combine the beans, onion, olives, peppers, celery and Parmesan cheese.  In a jar tight-fitting lid, combine the remaining ingredients; shake well.  Pour over bean mixture and toss to coat.  YIELD: 6 servings


    FAMOUS DAVE’S WILBUR BEANS


     Steak Meat or Pork Tenderloin                   8 ounces
    Smoked Sausage links or Kielbasa           3 each or 8 oz
    Diced Onions                                                1 medium = ¾ cup diced
    Fresh Jalapenos, fine diced                          1 ea. Or 1 Tbsp (optional)
    Green Bell Peppers, large diced                1/3 cup diced
    Famous Dave’s Texas Pit BBQ sauce      19 oz bottle
    Baked Beans (bush’s Brand)                      55 oz can
     


    Grill meat until well done, cut into ½” cubes.   Grill the smoked sausage until the casing is crisp and charred in places, then dice into ½” cubes.  Place cubed sausage into a 12” cast iron or other heavy skillet.  Heat on high and fry until some fat has rendered out.  Add diced onions, green peppers and Jalapenos.  Sauté until onions are transparent.  Next add the meat and the Texas Pit BBQ sauce, reduce heat to medium and bring meat and sauce mixture to a simmer.  Finally add the baked beans, stir well, reduce heat and simmer until heated through.  Enjoy now and chill the leftovers for tomorrow!


     Famous Dave’s of America, Inc.  – 1998 Home show


     

  • Morning.......looks like a nice day in Minnesota today!   The sun is out!   Laundry is started and I am finishing up my breakfast.   I have about 4 more loads of laundry to do today and then I will be all caught up for the first time in a few weeks.  


    I have plenty to get done before we go over to our friends house for a BBQ.    I need to straighten the toy area since my neice and Tommy really trashed it the other night when we were working on Erik's room.   I might not get to straightening the laundry room today since I need to do the toys.  


    I realized last night I needed to start my book for book group since it is a really long book and we have two months to read it, but it will take me that long to read it at least.   We are reading Anna Karenina by Tolstoy.  


    MONDAY
    MORNING
    Toy Area
    Laundry Room/Laundry
    Thaw Beans
    Make Salad for BBQ


    AFTERNOON
    Scrub Kitchen Floor
    Vacuum


    4 to 8 - Go To CIndy and Wills for BBQ

  • Read in May.............


    May


    The Things They Carried - Tom O'Brien - 3/5


    Never Change - Elizabeth Berg - 4/5


    Vanishing Act - Jodi Picoult - 4/5


    Until They Bring the Streetcars Back - Stanley Gordon West - 4/5


    Being Perfect - Anna Quindlen - 3/5