Month: December 2008

  • It is a Bit Chilly......

    I am so happy to report that it is 11 degrees below zero and my house is toasty warm.  In the 11 years of living in this house, it has NEVER been this warm.  I now know for sure that the new windows and doors were a very good investment.   The work crew is not here yet, but are suppose to be here to finish up today.  

    I am off to work and hopefully can get home a little earlier.  Last night I got caught in the rush hour with snow and it took me over an hour to get home.  YUCK!!  My last meeting of the day is in Hastings, so it will still be a bit of a trek to get home.

    Well I think I am going to brush my teeth and head to work.  Have a toasty warm day!!!

  • More To Come.....

    So many photos and so little time.....I will post more in a while.  It is time for me to head to bed.  I need to be up and showered before the work crew arrives tomorrow morning.  I wasn't quite done when they arrived this morning.  I am so not a morning person.  I wonder if that will EVER change!!!

    Good Night!!

  • OUR BIG FAMILY CHRISTMAS......

    The Saturday before Christmas we host OUR BIG FAMILY CHRISTMAS at our home.  It is a great time for everyone.  Here are a few photos from the party.  I didn't take many photos this year during the holidays.  I don't have a single picture from my cookie exchange party

    100_1998

    Joshua, my hairy man child.  What is up with the facial hair!! 

    100_1999

    My Nephew, Nic.  He has a great smile!

    100_2000

    On the couch we have Dan (BIL), Dale (BIL) Chel (niece), Steve (BIL-lives with us) 

    100_2001

    Steve and his son, Kaleb

    100_2002

    Lisa (niece) with Erik

    100_2003

    Erik, Josh and Joe (Nephew). Argh they both have facial hair! I am getting old!

    100_2004

    My MIL and FIL, (Dick and Jane)

    100_2005

    Dick (FIL), Bonnie (SIL) and Nick

    100_2006

    Tommy, Kristen (niece) and Me in Tommy's room.  See how undone the second mural is.....bad mommy!

    100_2007

    Tommy and Kristen playing Tommy's favorite gift!! Connect Four!!!

    100_2009

    There was some massive amounts of connect four going on all night.  

    It was a long, loud and fun night!!!  I had to get up the next morning and be at church by 7:00am to sell cookies.  Needless to say I was late!  Argh...only by 15 minutes though.   I finally crawled into bed around midnight and the party was still going strong at our house without me.   I put my ear plugs in and went to sleep.  I woke to a noise at 2:00am and found Erik doing something in his room.  Not sure what.  I told him to go to bed and the house was finally quiet!!

    It was a wonderful time with family.  I am so truly blessed..................

    Jen C

  • Holiday Happenings...

    SECRET SANTA -

    Each year at my office we do a little secret santa thing.   You find little gifts and decorations on your desk each day for a week or so.   On the last day we have a unveiling and pizza party.   My secret Santa gave me the new Rachel Ray cookbook as my final gift@!@@@  Yeah!!

    These are some of the other gifts from my secret santa!!!   Tommy loves the Santa mug.  It is his new favorite to drink hot cocoa!

    100_1993

    She decorated my cube with printed out recipes from the Food Network!!

    100_1995

    Here it is...my home away from home!!   My cube!!  This is the outside of my cube all decorated by my secret santa.  I had a very nice secret santa!

    100_1996

  • Home Remodeling.....

    Hello Everyone -

    Sorry I have been missing in action.   I haven't felt like blogging.  I have been hanging out a bit on facebook, etc.   I do have many pictures from the holidays to share later!!!  But for now.....look at the changes in our house from when I went to work, until I came home.

    Back Door - Before Work......

    100_2044

    After Work.......

    100_2050

    The Entryway before work..........

    100_2045

    The Entryway after work....... 

    100_2049

    New Picture Window....I forgot to take a before pic.  Sorry!!!  

    100_2046  

    The crew is not done, but they have all the windows and doors installed.  Tomorrow they will return and finish wrapping the outside of the windows and finish the trim in the house.  They will also be putting the glass block windows in the basement.   They should be all done tomorrow. 

    So we are almost done with all the remodeling we will be doing.  The only thing left is for the electrician to finish up their work.  I called them this morning and added one more job.  We decided to get recessed lighting put in the living room so we will also have overhead lights in the living room.   They still have work to finish in the garage and some things I want changed in the basement.  The windows and driveway installers were very professional and easy to work with, these electricians are driving me nuts!  

    I am trying to be patient as I know in the end it will be very nice.   With everything getting upgraded and looking so nice, now I want to repaint the living room, kitchen and our bedroom.  ARGH!!!  It will never end!  I still am not done with Tommy's murals either.   I need to get painting, maybe this weekend. 

    I hope all is well with you and I will catch up with everyone soon.

    Jen C

  • New Soup Recipes to Try........


    Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup


    1 15-ounce can whole kernel corn, drained
    2 14.5-ounce cans regular chicken broth (or 3 cups homemade chicken stock)
    1 10-ounce can chunk chicken (or 1 1/2 cups leftover chicken)
    1 15-ounce can black beans
    1 10-ounce can diced tomatoes with green chile peppers, drained

    Pour corn, chicken broth, chunk chicken, beans and tomatoes with peppers into a large saucepan or stock pot. Simmer over medium heat until chicken is heated through. Serve over tortilla chips, and top with shredded Cheddar cheese. Serves: 6.

    Cook’s Note: This recipe requires an oath of secrecy from the cook. Get rid of all the cans and then don’t tell a soul. Your family and guests will think you’ve been cooking all day to create such a perfectly delicious homemade soup.

    Hamburger Vegetable Soup


    1 pound ground beef
    4 cups chicken broth
    4 cups water
    2 (1 ounce) packages dry onion soup mix
    1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
    2 stalks celery, chopped
    1 onion, chopped
    1 (16 ounce) package frozen mixed vegetables
    3/4 cup uncooked elbow macaroni

    Place ground beef in a sauté pan and brown over medium heat. Remove from stove, drain and set aside. In a large stock pot, combine broth, water, onion soup mix, tomato sauce, celery, onion, frozen vegetables and macaroni. Bring to a boil and then simmer until macaroni is done.* Add browned ground beef, stir and serve. Serves: 4.

    *Note: If you plan for this to simmer for a while, cook the pasta in a separate pot, rinse and set aside. Add pasta just before serving. If allowed to simmer with soup, pasta may turn to mush.


    Creamy Onion Soup


    2 quarts water, plus 1/2 cup cold water
    8 cubes beef bouillon, crumbled
    2 large onions, quartered and sliced
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
    3/4 cup all-purpose flour
    1 cup heavy cream
    1 1/2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
    Croutons (optional)

    In a large, heavy pot over medium heat, bring 2 quarts water to a boil. Stir in bouillon cubes and let boil 10 minutes, until dissolved. Place onions in boiling water, reduce heat and simmer 30 minutes. Stir in salt and pepper and simmer 30 minutes more.

    In a small bowl, stir the flour into 1/2 cup cold water to make a paste. Gently whisk this mixture into the simmering soup, being careful not to break the onions. Simmer 30 minutes more. Stir in cream and cheese until cheese is melted and mixture is thoroughly heated. Thin with water, if desired. Serve hot, garnished with croutons (optional). Serves: 4.


    Low-Fat Cheesy Potato Soup


    1 3/4 cups peeled, diced potatoes
    1 medium onion, chopped
    1/4 cup celery, chopped
    1 (14.5 ounce) can chicken broth
    1/8 teaspoon pepper
    3 tablespoons cornstarch
    1 (12 fluid ounce) can non-fat evaporated milk, divided
    1 cup shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese

    In a large saucepan, combine the potatoes, onion, celery, broth and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 15 to 18 minutes or until vegetables are tender. In a separate bowl, combine cornstarch and 1/4 cup milk until smooth; stir into potato mixture. Add the remaining milk. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from the heat. Stir in cheese until melted. Serves: 5.

  • Finally signed up for a facebook account!!!  

  • 23rd

     

    Wed – Christmas Eve

    Pizza Dip

    Shrimp Cocktail

    Oriental Wings

    Cheese Sticks

    Little Wieners

     

    Thursday – Christmas Day

    Crab Legs

    Parmesan Potatoes

    Veggie

     

    Friday-

    Crab Chowder - leftover crab legs!

    Rolls

     

     

    Sat

    Ribs

    Oven Fies

    Veggie

     

     

    Sun

    Meatloaf http://weblog.xanga.com/WVCountryRoads/686043776/our-favorite-meatloaf.html

    Mashed Pots/ Veggie

     

     

    MON-

    Ravioli

     

     

    Tuesday

    Turkey Loafs

    Baked Rice http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/vegs%20&%20sides.htm#BAKED_RICE__

    Veggie

     

     

    Wed

    LEFTOVERS

     

     

    Thursday – Jan 1

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/01/chicken-enchilada-soup.html

     

     

    Friday – (Grocery)

    Creamy Chicken Noodle Bake

     http://confessions-of-a-psychotic-housewife.blogspot.com/2008/06/recipe-creamy-chicken-noodle-bake.html

  • Christmas....

    "Christmas rituals are like anchors in our lives. Doing the same things together, year after year, assures us that even in a changing world, some things never change."

    I can't tell you how true the above statement is!!   I am very big on traditions with my family.   I honestly don't remember a whole lot of rituals with my family growing up.  They might have happened, but I don't remember them.  I am hoping we have had enough consistency with ours that my children remember them when they are older. 

    Right now they remember them from year to year and ask for them.   We start with putting up the tree the day after Thanksgiving.   Josh came over and participated in this with us as well.  It is hard having any tradition with him gone.  I think about it and find it so sad.  This is our first Christmas without Josh living under our roof.   I know I am lucky that he lives near and comes to visit frequently, but it is still a noticable difference to me. 

    We dig out our Holiday movies and start setting the DVR to record some new ones!  We try to watch a holiday show each night together.  

    A great tradition I started about 2 or three years ago after reading about it on Heartwomb's site is to wrap Christmas books for each night before Christmas as a advent count down.  This is a great tradition and I hope to continue it with my grandkids some day.  

    Last night was my annual cookie exchange party.  It was funny as Erik was pretty excited about it.   I think for him it is just the beginning to the holiday parties at our house.  He likes when we have parties.  

    On Saturday we will have our family Christmas party.  We counted last night and we will have about 25 people in attendance.  We will have 3 new comers to the party.  We try to have a present for all new guests and children that come to our house.  We usually don't exchange gifts between the adult siblings.  One year we drew names, but we haven't been able to coordinate that since.  We always have a Italian theme meal.   Living in a family with aspergers syndrome , we thrive on things always being the same!   But honestly I like it that way too.

    Hubby, the children and I have already started talking about what appetizers each person wants for Christmas Eve.   And we will be scouting the price for crab legs for our Christmas Day meal.   Our once a year crab meal!!   I am looking forward to it just thinking about it. 

    On Christmas eve we open our presents from each other and attend candlelight service.  We always get new pjs for the children.  Then they wear them to bed so they look nice for pictures on Christmas morning.   I try to buy the boys each a book as well each Christmas. 

    Santa does come to our house.  And if you believe in him, he leaves you gifts in your stocking and a family gift under the tree.  Amazingly enough everyone in my house believes in Santa.  Christmas day is spent at home enjoying our new gifts together!  We usually have brunch and an early crab supper. 

    What memories/traditions do you have in your home???