Month: August 2009

  • September Meal Plan.....

    tinamommycopy

    This month I am going to try menu planning and shopping for the month at a time to see if I save more money doing it this way!!

    SEPTEMBER’S MENU

     

    1          Tuna Noodle Casserole,- Peas

    2          40 Clove Garlic Chicken (crock 6-8 hrs)/ Pasta Salad (box)/ Broccoli

    3          Lasagna Roll Ups/ Garlic Bread

    4          French Bread Pizza/ Salad

    5          Pioneer Woman Chicken Strips, Mac N Cheese (box), Fruit

    6          Grilled Honey Mustard Pork Chops, Pasta Salad, Carrots. 

    7          Labor Day: Hamburgers & Hot Dogs/ Pasta Salad/ Corn on Cob

    8          Seafood Alfredo/ Garlic Bread

    9          Pancakes, Sausage and Scrambled Eggs

    10         Baked Ham Rigatoni /Garlic Bread

    11         Tacos/ Chips and Salsa

    12         Steak, Roasted Pots, Green Beans X 2, Salad Onion Vinegrette,

    13         French Toast/Eggs/ Bacon

    14         Spaghetti w/ meat sauce & Garlic Bread

    15         Enchilada Casserole & Spanish Rice (Box with diced Tomatoes Added)

    16         Chicken Abodo (crock 7-8 hrs ) –Flavored Noodles (bag) - Corn

    17         Cheese Beef Macaroni x 2, Corn

    18         Steak and Cheese Sandwiches/ Steak Fries

    19         Oven Fried Fish and Chips -

    20         Pork Roast, Roasted Pots and Green Beans

    21         Duggar Tater Tot Casserole

    Duggar Family Tater Tot Dish
    1 lb ground turkey cooked, seasoned, drained
    2lb bags tater tots
    1 can cream of mushroom
    1 can evaporated milk
    1 can cream of chicken
    Brown meat & place in large cass. dish.
    Cover with tater tots. Mix soup & milk together.
    Pour over top. Bake at 350 for 1 Hour.
    (One of Daddy’s Favorites!) Makes 1- 9”X13” pans

    Add Mixed Veggies to meat before doing rest of recipe.

     

    22         Cheese Quesadillas/ Spanish Rice - (Box with diced Tomatoes Added)

    23         Country Ham and Cheese Macaroni, Carrots and Dinner Rolls

    24         Book Group: Baked Pork Chops and Rice & Peas

    25         Italian Beef Sandwiches/ Seasoned Tater Tots 

    26         Back to School Picnic???

    27         Beef Enchiladas, Spanish Rice , Corn

    28         Frozen Pizza/ Salad

    29         Crock pot Sloppy Joes (6-8 hrs CROCK)/ Chips & Dip

    30         Biscuit and Gravy / Scramble Eggs/ Bacon thick cut x2

     

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Tina at Mommy's Kitchen  or Laura at Organizing Junkie.

  • Menu Planning....

    This weekend we will be starting a little experiment with our meal planning and grocery shopping.   I am going do my menu this weekend and will be planning for the entire month! We haven't been able to purchase our second fridge as we are finishing up painting another of coat of paint on the pantry floor.  Therefore,  we will not be able to buy all the perishables due to lack of storage space.  But I will have the menu planned and will buy all the nonperishables.

    I found a new menu planning blog/ cooking mom that I love!   Check out Mommy's Kitchen.    She does monthly menu planning and I think I can save more money by only shopping once a month instead of the two times I do now.  So we will see......  I will let you know how it goes. 

    Part of my motivation is I really like my weekends to just do things with family and I hate having to use two days a month to shop.   I have a feeling it will take me a bit more time to menu plan for an entire month, but we will see! 

  • He's Back......

    I leave you with the images that have me going to bed with a smile on my face........my oldest son is home again.   I am a happy mama!  He wasted no time getting moved in!

    IMG_0794

    IMG_0793

    Good Night!!

  • Are you ready for school to start????

    Fourteen more days until my children return to school, but who is counting??Things get faster paced once school starts, but the structure is so good for them.

     

    Kid Organization-

     

    My children, like me were NOT born organized.  We all have to work at it, some more than others.The most important thing in our house is for our children to know where things should go so they can find them in the morning.Everyone needs a launch pad….even the adults in the house!

     

    Honestly, Tommy’s launch pad for the morning is really built around the closet door in the living room.It is the place we will be walking by every morning.I post on the door the school menu and calendar for our reference each day.I have Tommy look to see what needs to be done to hopefully start setting these habits in his mind.We also post his memory work on the door.That way each time we walk by we can review his bible verse or spelling words for the week.

     

    I have Tommy hang his backpack on the door handle of the closet each evening once we have packed it.He hangs his jacket in his room on his hooks.  Everything always goes in the same place so it is easy to find in the morning. 

     

    Erik is older and I am really trying to get him to get himself ready each morning.I set up his meds in a weekly container so they are ready for him to take in the morning.At the beginning of the year, we might have to make a list for the mornings, but he is very routine based in his thinking so once he gets it…he is good.I have trained him that any papers he has from school he sets on my laptop after school.This has worked well and he always sets anything I need to see on my laptop.

     

    Hat/ Gloves Trick:  How many pairs of gloves do you go through in a year??  A little trick that has helped me a bit, is that I buy 4 pairs of the same gloves at the beginning of the school year.  This way he is loses once glove we have a chance of still having a complete pair.  Last year he got me on this as he lost he same glove from two different pairs.   But sometimes it works out in my favor. 

     

    Uniforms:  I buy enough uniforms to make it through the week.  Maybe when Tommy gets older he will be able to wear a shirt more than once, but now he comes home with food on his shirt everyday.  Wish he would remember to use a napkin instead of his shirt.  So I buy 5 long sleeve and 5 short sleeve uniform shirts.  If I was better an keeping the laundry caught up I wouldn't have to buy some many.    My trick that works well for Tommy and hubby is that the drawers on Tommy's captain's bed are where his uniforms are kept.  They are separate from his regular clothes and every weekend I wash all uniforms and put them in the drawers for the week.  He is never digging through his dresser trying to find his uniforms. 

     

    This is what works for us.What works in your house??What are your tricks to keep your kids and their stuff organized??

     

     

    lunch Lunches/Breakfast

     

    I am not very creative with bag lunches.During the summer, Tommy takes a lunch to daycare at the college each day.This is easy to pack as I just send leftovers as his lunch bag is stored in the fridge and he can use the microwave there.School is a bit more tricky.His lunch will be un-fridgerated until lunch time and he doesn’t have the use of a microwave.

     

    Tommy eats the school lunch a couple times a week as well.When the school menu comes each month, we sit down and read through the options and he decides what days he will bring a lunch.I pay for lunches by the month and we pack a lunch on Tommy’s chosen days.He generally will not eat at school if they are having pizza.He really doesn’t care for pizza that much.

     

    Lunch ideas in our house are pretty boring.Tommy likes to either have a sandwich (must have lettuce), wraps or mac and cheese.I have found that mac and cheese stays warm until lunch when I pack it in an insulated food jar.I also generally add a fruit cup, a juice or Gatorade and a small treat like a cookie or something.My pantry is generally stocked with items to make a quick lunch. 

     

    IMG_0792

    The pantry is looking a little bare.   I will be buying a months worth of food after we move the pantry to it's new location.  But you can see I have a plastic container that contains an assortment of granola bars.  We have easy mac for those mornings he wants Mac and Cheese and I don't have any made.  We also keep chips and drinks on hand.  My BIL also takes a lunch to work each day. 

     

    This year to make lunch packing a bit easier, I purchased a small food jar made by Laptop Lunches.  I also bought a plastic drink bottle so I can just fill him some juice vs buying juice boxes and gatorade.  Of course I will keep a few juice boxes on hand for those rushed mornings.  It would just be cheaper to fill our own juice. 

     

    I would like to be a bit more creative with packing lunches this year, since I also take the same thing to work with me.  Here are some recipes I have been collecting in planning for making lunches.

     

    Turkey Wrap

    Lunch Box Taco Salad - might be too messy for Tommy, but I would like it!

    Ham and Cheese Quesadillas

    Bologna Slaw Wraps

    Top Five Freezeable Lunch Sandwiches: such as - Ham Salad Wraps, Tex Mex Pitas, Chicken Pesto Sandwich, Freeze Ahead Tuna Sandwich

     

    For in the Food Jar:  I want to be able to send hot food or soup with him!

    Frank and Bean Soup

    Chicken Chowder

     

    Snacks or Treats to add to Lunchbox:

    Oatmeal Cookies

    Chewy Cereal Bars

    Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Homemade Cracker Jack

    Numerous Snack Mixes

    Healthy Snack Ideas
    Zucchini Brownies

     

    Drink Recipe : Sunny Orange Delight

     

    Sarahdusenberry shared in comments that Hillbilly Housewife had some lunch ideas on her site.   I found this great list of lunch ideas there!!

     

    So those are my ideas for lunchbox options.  I am in desparate need of more ideas!  What do you send to school with your children??  Please share!!

     

    BREAKFAST:

    After reading what others are doing to organize for school, I came across a great idea I plan on implementing this year.Breakfast can be an issue at our home.Tommy will not eat cereal, he wants a hot breakfast every morning.This isn’t the problem.The problem is that he takes FOREVER to decide what he wants for breakfast.So this year we have a set breakfast menu and we are sticking to that.Now I can get breakfast ready and have it  waiting for him when he gets up, because I know what we will be having.I am thinking of a way to do this with his lunches too, but haven’t came up with a good plan yet.

     

    BREAKFAST MENU

    Monday – Boiled Egg/Toast

    Tuesday – Oatmeal

    Wednesday – Pancakes

    Thursday – Muffin/Yogurt

    Friday – Cheesy Eggs/Toast

     

    How are your back to school preparations coming??  Check in with us!!  

     

  • The Remodel Progress....

       The journey began because one young man wanted to move back home.  This was what we started with......it is a long ways from move in ready!!  That was at the end of May.

    IMG_0151

    Tommy enjoyed this look.  It made the perfect roller rink!!  Prior to looking like this is was stacked to the gills with storage stuff! 

      IMG_0152

     Next came the digging of the hole for the egress window.....what fun! That took a few weekends in June.

    IMG_0263

    Then came the collapse of the hole.......oops...

    IMG_0283

    Finally it was done and we were ready for the window to be installed.

    IMG_0328

    The fruit if our labors......the egress window!

    IMG_0740

    We went on vacation in July and when we returned the project had started and the insulation was up....YEAH!  Recessed lighting is installed.

    IMG_0757

    Next the sheetrock was put up.  It is starting to look like a bedroom.

    IMG_0760

    Then the walls were taped,  mudded and painted! 

    IMG_0769

    Here is where we are today...........

    The hole to right is where the sump pump is and a cabinet is being built above it.  The cabinet door in between the windows is one of the two cabinet doors for the alcove above the sump pump. 

    IMG_0782

    The egress window is done and has a sill now, very nice.  To the right are the closet doors.  To the left is the door covering the electrical panel.   And yes, that window does look like it is centered on the wall now.  Thanks to the wonderful idea of our contractor, Andy to jut the wall out around the electrical panel.  PERFECT!

    IMG_0783

    This is my bookcase and I LOVE IT!  This was the one thing we had put in for when we move into this room after Josh is out on his own again.  It is a double sided bookscase, on the opposite side when you come in the door there is an identical book case. 

    IMG_0784

    Closet doors were hung and it is starting to look like a closet. 

    IMG_0785

    I can't wait to see what is accomplished tomorrow!!  It is getting exciting as they are finishing it up.  Then we will have it carpeted and Josh will move in.  His lease is up on the 31st, but it sounds like he plans on moving in the weekend before that so I think he will be on the couch for a bit. 

    Thanks for stopping by.....

  • Long To Do List Day.....

    I really have alot to get done, so I need to post my To Do List to keep me on track!    It is a good thing I didn't go into the office as the house really needs to be attended to.

    2:00 - Teddy to the Groomer - DONE
    Complete MIL medical Assistance PW
    Complete Erik's School Paperwork

    Kitchen:
    Finish Dishes - Hubby Did -
    Clean out Spices  (alphabetize) - DONE
    Clean Cat Litter - DONE
    Change Towels - DONE
    Clean Windows/Curtains - DONE
    Make Homemade Chicken Pot Pies for Tomorrows Supper

    Clean out all Trash Cans - DONE

    Wash Bedding - DONE
    Dust/Sweep Bedrooms - DONE
    Fill Meds Boxes - DONE
    Clean Desk

    Clean Mirrors and Doors - DONE

  • orgjunkiempm1

    Menu Plan For
     August 15th - August 31st

    Thanks to Laura at I'm an Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Go and check out more great menus!   Menu planning will help you have more time with your family and enjoy your summer.

    Keepers from last weeks Menu include the following: 

     Honey Pecan Chicken , Spinach and Strawberry Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

    Chicken Mozarella

    Enchilada Casserole

    Creamy Chicken Breasts

    Chesse Quesadillas

    Mexican Style Ravioli

    Our Menu

    Sat - 15 - BBQ Ribs, Mac and Cheese and Potato Salad  

    Sun 16 - Teriyaki Sirlon Steak, Baked Potatoes, Green Beans

    Mon 17 - Chicken Pot Pie with Homemade Crust 

    Tues 18 -Cheese Beef Macaroni x 2 , Corn

    Wed 19 - IHOPS French Toast, Eggs & Bacon

    Thurs 20 - Quick Baked Cod, Baked Potato, Peas

    Fri - 21 - Pizza Rolls Sandwiches 

    Sat 22 - Whole Chicken  - Beer in the Rear Chicken, Oven Potato Wedges , Corn on the Cob

    Sun 23 -  Oven Baked Pork Chops and Rice , Carrots

    Mon 24 - Crockpot Salisbury Steak with Mashed Pots, Green Beans 

    Tues 25 -Duggar Family Tater Tot Dish

    1 lb ground turkey cooked, seasoned, drained
    2lb bags tater tots
    1 can cream of mushroom
    1 can evaporated milk
    1 can cream of chicken
    Brown meat & place in large cass. dish.
    Cover with tater tots. Mix soup & milk together.
    Pour over top. Bake at 350 for 1 Hour.
    (One of Daddy’s Favorites!) Makes 1- 9”X13” pans

    Wed 26- Country Ham and Cheese Macaroni, Carrots and Dinner Rolls.

    Thurs 27 - Spaghetti & Meatballs/Texas Toast

    Fri 28 - Corn Dogs & Fries

    Sat 29 - Crunchy Oven -Fried Chicken DrumsticksPotato Salad, Corn on Cob

    Sun 30 - Grilled Honey Balsamic Chicken, Green Beans, Baked Potatoes

    Mon - 31 - Chessy Scalloped Potatoes , Peas

    DESSERTS and SNACKS:

    Sour Cream Blueberry Muffins

    Strawberry Yogurt Popsicles

    Homemade Jello Pudding Pops

    RECIPES TO TRY:

    Kool-Aide Pie

    Gorilla Bread

    Piggies in a Blanket

    Chocolate Cobbler

    Bananarita Smoothie

    Pioneer Woman Chicken Strips

    Strawberry Shortcut Cake

    Grilled Corn on the Cob

    Baked Ham Rigatoni

    Homemade Orange Julius

    Steak and Cheese Sandwiches

    Semi Homemade Peach Cobbler

    Frosted Tea Cake Cookies

    Fudge Puddles

    Italian Beef Sandwiches

    Easy Fruit Salad

    Spaghetti O's Casserole

    Goulash

    Grocery Budget

    We did really well with staying within budget today.  We are under and have a bit to save for next time when I will need alot more meat.  I planned meals around the meat we have so I can clean out the freezer.

    Sam's Club - $114.88  for 14 items ($39.74 - was non-grocery: laundry detergent, toilet paper and cat litter)

    Aldi - $ 76.00 for 42 items

    Festival - $30.84 for 12 items

    Kowalski's - $3.99  for 1 items

    Grand Total - $225.71

    Food Total - $185.97/ 2.3 weeks = $80.86/week for a family of 5 or 6 depending on the day!

  • I'm Back...... Did ya Miss Me???

    Sorry to bail on you during our Back to School series, but life happens.   I came home sick on Friday and just went downhill from there.  I was in bed all weekend.  I was at the Dr on Monday and was diagnosed with a sinus infection and exacerbation of asthma.   I am on antibiotics and starting to feel human again!

    But being sick has given a great opportunity to see how doing my morning and evening routine has kept my house somewhat presentable.   If you knocked on my door, I would left you in.  But truthfully, if I knew you were coming I would probably clean up some.  But that is what I think of as lived in!   Life happens and sometimes you let things slide for a few days while you rest.  If you have a system in place your family can keep things running pretty well without you. 

      So I want to chat a bit about our bedtime routines.  Do you have one???   I struggle to do mine each night as I rather do a million other things, but life goes much better if I just do it!   Story of my life, quit complaining and just do it!

    Jen' Bed Time Routine:
    1.  Wash Dishes/Clean Counters
    2.  Sweep Kitchen
    3.  Make Lunches/ Prep for Dinner
    4.  Switch Laundry/ Lay out Clothes
    5.  Take Dogs Out
    6.  Go To Bed

    Do I do each of these items each night??  Nope, life happens, but I try to.  Whatever I don't get done that night I will do in the morning.   But just doing these few things each night, keep the house presentable enough for us.  The bedtime routine really helps to make my mornings run more smoothly.  I remind myself of this each time I procrastinate and tell myself, "just do it!".  Tonight is a good night....all items of the routine are done.   I keep my bedtime routine on my yahoo calendar and receive text message reminders as well. 

    What is your bedtime routine?  If you don't have one, tell us three things that you would like to do each evening to make your morning go more smoothly!   Now write them down and start implementing your plan!

    Household Cleaning.. - the question I always hear is what is the best plan to clean on a regular basis??   We have handled this a number of different ways in our home.  I have practiced the Home Blessing Hour as suggested by the Fly Lady.  You can see examples of Flylady's routines on her site. 

    Weekly Home Blessing Hour from Flylady.net

    1. Cull/toss old magazines.
    2. Change sheets.
    3. Empty all the trash.
    4. Vacuum all rooms.
    5. Mop kitchen and bath.
    6. Clean mirrors and doors.
    7. Feather Dust furniture.

    I used to do the Weekly Blessing of my home on Fridays as I only worked 1/2 of the day.  Last year I started volunteering at Tommy's school so I wasn't able to have the time to do this on Fridays.   

    The year before that we did the weekly cleaning as a family on Thursday evenings after supper.  It was very quickly done with all of us helping.  We had individual chores that we rotated each week.  You can see the break down of the chores we did on Thursdays on my website.  This worked very well for about 6 months.  Once my hubby started saying he would do his chores the next day, my older boys no longer were cooperative.  If Dad didn't need to do his chore, why should they.   So to save my own sanity I gave up on this options for weekly cleaning.  But it did work very well while it lasted!

    Currently, with working full time and having many evening meetings for church or Tommy's school, I divide my cleaning up through out the week.   I do my cleaning in the morning before going to work.   If I run out of time in the morning to finish my chore I will finish it in the evening. 

    Jen's Cleaning Schedule:
    Sunday - Wash Bedding/ Clean Up my Desk/ Fill Med Boxes
    Monday - Mop Floors - Kitchen and bathrooms
    Tuesday - Feather Dust
    Wednesday - Vacuum/ Sweep
    Thursday - Clean Bathrooms
    Friday - Clean Mirrors, Picture Window and Doors
    Saturday - Change Cat Litter/ Errands

    The best things about dividing the cleaning throughout the week is that if I miss mopping the floors this Monday as I was just too busy, the rest of the cleaning will still get done and next week I will make sure I mop the floors.  When we were doing cleaning on Thursdays, if we missed a Thursday, we missed doing all the chores for the week, not just one chore. 

    IMG_0766

    My cleaning schedule is on the side of my fridge and I add items as I need to.  I am a very visual person so I need things out where I will see them. to remember to do them. 

    IMG_0767

    The side of the fridge is the place where I keep most of the information to keep me organized.  The pink sheet is the list of frequently called numbers.  Our family calendar, car keys and pens can all be found here as well. 

     

    So as you can see, there is no right way to do your cleaning.  It is simply what works for your life at this time and that can change from time to time, so our routines need to change as well.  

     

     

    HOMEWORK:   Decide on a bedtime routine, write it down and start implementing it this week.  Hopefully it will be running smoothly for you by the time school starts!   Decide how you would like to do your cleaning.  What will work in your life as it is today?   The best way to get started to is write down your plans!   Grab a piece of paper and write down your bedtime routine and your plan for weekly cleaning. 

    I look forward to hearing how all of you are doing, so please check in with the group!!

    I frequently get comments that my house must be so clean.  Like I said I wouldn't die if you stopped by, but it isn't perfect and never will be.  It took me a while to get to a place in my life where I realized that good enough....is good enough.  This from a recovering perfectionist!  

    IMG_0772

    I try to keep the coffee table cleaned off.  It drives me nuts to have it covered with things.  But to keep it clean I have to put everyone elses things away each morning and evening. 

    IMG_0773

    My dishes are washed and drying on the counter.  No dishwasher here, but my two hands.  When I get up in the morning I will put the dishes away.  I wouldn't be embarassed if you came over and saw my dishes drying, at least they are clean. 

    IMG_0775

    Laundry....I always have clothes waiting to be washed.  All clothes are picked up off the floors of the bedrooms each night and put down the laundry chute.  Each morning when I start a load of laundry I sort the few items that came down the night before.  I sort my clothes by person or room.  Each basket is for a different person.  This makes it easier for me to wash and put away the clothes in the right room when washing for so many people.  It also allows me to give the basket to the owner and ask them to take it to their room and put them away!   Mom doesn't have to do it all....delegate! 

    Hope you enjoyed seeing a glimpse into my home.  

    Blessings...

  • Me, smaller.

    Vote for my son's week 4 entry for his Windows Brand Ambassador contest!

  • Papers here, papers there….

    The start of school brings paper and more paper into your home.As if it isn’t hard enough to keep up with the mail, now add daily school papers!

     

    Last year I had a folder for each child and the things I was involved in.This did not work well for me at all.I would always forget the folder I needed and wouldn’t have it with me.So this year I re-vamped my system.I do that a lot, I try one way for a year or 6 months and if that doesn’t work for me, I change it.I am always looking for the best way that will work for me!!

     

    This year I have a three ring binder that is very colorful.I can always find it on my desk.I have 5 sections in my binder to organize my papers.The following are my current sections:

    1.MPTP – Parent Organization (I am treasurer)

    2.Tuition Bucks/Scrip Program(I am Co-coordinator)

    3.School Info (Tommy and Erik’s school info including school calendar and phone #)

    4.Book Group – (I am secretary – I send out the reading list, etc)

    5.Blog/Website/Internet – notes about blog items/ideas

     

    IMG_0761 IMG_0762

     

    I take this binder with me to work each day.If I need information for any of things I am involved with, it is right with me.For me it is all about containing papers for easy location.In the front pocket of my binder I keep short term items that I might need to refer back to such as invitations.

     

    School Papers – each year I start a new file folder in my file cabinet to keep art projects and special school papers from the year.Ever art item Tommy brings home does go onto the closet door along with the monthly calendar items that are there.He likes to showcase his items for a while including his spelling test for the week!

     

    Mail – I will admit I only go through my mail once a week.I let it pile on the table/desk at home until the weekend and then I clear it off and organize things.

     

    Phone Numbers:Each year I update the list of important phone numbers kept on the side of our fridge.I make sure all numbers for school, bus company and medical providers are on there.This has been very helpful to my hubby so he can very quickly call the school or bus company if one of the kids is sick.

    I know there was more I wanted to about this subject.....can't think of it, right now.  Share with us how you keep the important papers of your life organized!!

    HOMEWORK:  Make a deicision about what system you feel will help you keep your paperwork together for this upcoming school year.  Is is a folder, a 3 ring binder or something else?  Get whatever you would like to use ready for the school year!