Month: August 2010

  • Our Weekend: August 27th

      Friday - Outdoor movie night with friends and family!   Tommy was finally better after 2 weeks of being sick.  Allergies are still bothering Tommy and I, but it seems to be getting better.

    Saturday - we decided to do some outings!  Our summer is almost over and we have not done hardly any outings.  So off we went........................first stop......Noodles and Company for lunch.

    IMG_2249

    This was Tommy's first time eating at Noodles and Company.  Since he was still feeling a bit under the weather he and I shared a meal.  He loved the chopsticks! 

    Next stop...was a great hobby shop, my friend, Michelle told us about located in little Canada.   untitled

    This store is packed full of stuff, so it took us a long time to go through it.  We didn't even finish!   We bought a board game, snap together models and army guys.  Tommy enjoyed going there!

    IMG_2250

    IMG_2251

     

    cats-and-dogs-the-revenge-of-kitty-galoreLastly, we went to the movie.  I had free passes for the movie since Christmas.  So we went to see Cats and Dogs: Revenge of Kitty Galore. 

     We rarely go to a movie at the theater so this was a treat for Tommy.  We do rent movies frequently from the Red Box, but it is just too expensive to go to the theater. 

    That was our busy Saturday!!!

     

     

     

    SUNDAY - we went to church and then came home to have a quick lunch.  After lunch we went out to go geocaching.   What a great way to discover your town and local parks, searching for hidden caches.  We visited a number of parks and found 3 caches.  It was great to get the kids outside for a bit and hunting for treasure!

    41287_1562682074750_1466285467_31474733_3842232_n

    Tommy and our nephew, Kaleb getting ready to find the cache in this park, Apple Tree Park.  One of the new parks we discovered.

    46294_1562677554637_1466285467_31474717_3065134_n

    More Geocaching fun.....we could not find the one at this park!!

    meadowfox

    "Look, Mom, I FOUND IT!!! " - another cache successfully found. 

    We were hot and tired and ready to head home!  So we went home to make supper!  Hubby and I make baby back ribs!  Yummy!!  They were very good.  I will share the recipe and our BBQ technic in a post later!

    IMG_2252

    It was a wonderful weekend spending time with my guys!  I could not ask for anything better.  We are planning a few outings for next weekend to enjoy our last weekend of summer.  School starts on Sept 7th for Tommy.  Can you believe my little guy will be in the 3rd grade?? 

    Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!! 

    Love,

  • Back To School: Control Central

    Before we get started on today’s topic, I am wondering how you are doing with your morning and bedtime routines?  Come on fess up?  I have done terrible....sorry, it is true.  Tommy has been sick all week and it has thrown me off schedule in a big way.  I hope this week is better. 

    CONTROL CENTRAL - The brains and heart of organization.

    Now, on to calendars and how to develop your own Control Central!  Over the years I have tried many different things to get track of the many aspects of my life.  I am very happy with my current system.  I have tried to only have one calendar and that has not worked for me.  I have to have a work and home calendar.  

    IMG_2253 At home, I have what I call control central or you might call it the side of my fridge.  The side of our fridge plays a very important role in keeping us organized.  Everyone knows to look there for important info.  It is my job to keep it up to date for everyone. 

     

    I have had the same calendar on the side of the fridge for about 10 years.  This year I have a new one and I really love it.  Amy Knapp’s Big Grid Family Organizer,  I love this calendar!

    calendar_

    Amy's Big Grid Family Organizer has many great features:

    • Big grids for writing
    • Family notes/ Reminders area
    • Daily Dinner Menu
    • Great stickers for various appointments/events. 

    I happen to be giving away one of these wonderful calendars.  Stop by my giveaway post to enter to win this wonderful calendar and other great items to make your own control central. 

     

    Other items in my Control Central (side of the fridge) as you can see in the picture above:

     

    Magnetic Pencil Cup:  Don't you hate it when you can't find a writing utensil when you need one!!   We always have a pen or pencil handy by having them on the side of the fridge. 

     

    Frequently used phone numbers:  The pink paper on the upper left side of my control central is where we keep frequently called numbers.  It makes it easy for the kids to find the numbers for our neighbors and our cell and work numbers. 

     

    White Board:  The white board has been used for various items through the years. I used to have my weekly chores listed on it.  I now find it more helpful to have my shopping list and notes of things to remember on the white board.  I keep my chore list on my new calendar in the area titled Family notes and reminders.

     

    Magnetic Key Holders:   This is where we keep all our car keys.  This is helpful as we have 4 cars and need to move different ones when we are blocked in. 

     

     

    What to do with the various school and soccer calendars??

     

    I enter all the dates on the school calendar on my work and home calendar.  I enter everything in and put the original calendar away for safe keeping.

     

    IMG_2254 For the monthly school lunch menu and the classroom schedule for Tommy, I have that hanging on the closet door by the front door so we can review it each day on our way out of the house.  We also use this closet door to showcase Tommy's art work and school papers. 

     

    The other thing that is good about having this info on the closet door, is I am teaching Tommy to use it as well.  When he asks what is for lunch at school, I send him to go look on his calendars. 

     

    Wow….just typing this up I am realizing how much it really takes to keep me this organized.  If you wear less hats in life you might be able to get by with less, but I have many hats and it takes a bit to keep me on track.  Oh how my mind wanders!

     

    Please share with us your ideas to keep yourself organized.   I look forward to hearing from each of you!

     

    HOMEWORK:  Find a calendar that will meet your needs and start filling in important dates for the upcoming school year.   The best way to start using a calendar is to have one!!  The Home School Mom has some free online planners to get you started. The website My Free Calendar Makers has all formats of calendars: yearly, monthly, weekly and daily.

     

    I happen to be giving away a wonderful calendar, Amy's Big Grid Family Organizer.  Stop by my giveaway post to enter to win this wonderful calendar and other great items to make your own control central. 

     

     

     

    Have A Great Weekend!

     

  • Menu Plan Monday: August 29th - Sept 5th

     mealplanmonday_v2

     Menu Plan Monday: August 29 - September 5th 

    My family has been commenting how good meals have been lately at home.  Thank you E-Mealz.com!   Meals last week that were well received were the following:

    One Dish Nacho Bake
    Parmesan Crusted Chicken
    French Dip Sandwiches/
    Rotisserie Chicken (Crockpot)/ (family stand by)
    Grilled ribs/  (family stand by)

    I can't say enough about meal planning.  My youngest and I have been suffering through ragweed season.  After being sick for over a month, I think Tommy will finally be returning to daycare this week and I will return to work.  I am glad we had our meal planned during his illness as we ate at home each day and it made it very easy for my hubby to step in and assist with meal prep allowing me to rest a bit. 

    Here is what is on the menu this week at our house. 

    Mon - 30 - Balsamic Pork Chops/ Baked Potatoes/ Green Beans (P-337)

    Tues - 31 - Tilapia Almandine/ Veggie Mix - (P-337)

    Wed - 1 - Spaghetti/Garlic Bread

    Thurs - 2- Meet The Teacher - Classic Deli Wrap/ Cukes/ Sour Cream Chips

    Fri - 3 - Crock Pot Sloppy Joes/ Corn Chips/ Celery w/ Ranch

    Sat - 4 - BBQ Chicken/ Cole Slaw// Stovetop Beans (A-337)

    Sun - 5 - Grilled Shrimp Teriyaki/ Grilled Vegs/ Wild Rice (p-338)

    Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!  Just remember that a bit of planning will sure make your week go smoother, giving you more free time and saving you money!  For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie and participate in Menu Plan Monday.  Weekly over 400 bloggers share what they have on their menu. 

    Don't forget to enter to win my "Back To School" giveaway.  I am holding a Back to School organizing giveaway, so make sure to enter to win.  To enter leave a comment on the give away post.   I will be giving away a “Back to School" organizing pack!This will get you started on developing your own Control Central!It will include a great new calendar that I am previewing, Amy Knapp’s Big Grid Family Organizer.  I love this calendar!

     

    calendar_

    Happy Eating!!!

  • Recipe: Easy Parmesan Crusted Chicken

    Parmesan Crusted Chicken

    3 chicken breasts, thawed, halved and pounded
    2/3 Cups mayo
    1/3 cups grated Parmesan
    5 tsp Italian Bread Crumbs

    Combine Mayo and Cheese.  Spread on chicken then sprinkle with bread crumbs.  Bake at 425 for 20 minutes. 

  • Back To School: Morning Routine

     logo

    Has the countdown to school started in your home??  How did you do with starting your bedtime routine last week??   I didn't do as well as I would have liked....I was out more evenings than I would like.  I actually completed my bedtime rountine only 3 times last week.   I guess that is better than the week before!   I am hoping this week goes better. 

    monster This week also try to add your morning routine to your day!  Anyone that knows me can attest to this, I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON. Trust me, I have really tried to become a morning person.  I have struggled greatly to find a morning routine that would work for me.  I need to have cushion built into my morning routine as I might not get out of bed in time (probably wont!).  If my morning goes better, my whole day goes better.  I know this... I arrive at work more awake and productive.  I am less stressed because I am not rushing the children to get ready saying we are late, AGAIN!!   Towards the end of the school year, Tommy would ask me each morning “Are we late?”  I think that is how he gauged what mood I would be in.  Needless to say my best moments were not in the morning.  I know this comes easy to many people, but for me it is a real struggle.

    My morning routine has changed over the years due to the different seasons of my life.  But my morning routine sets the mood for my day and I want that mood to be peaceful and energized.  I set my morning routine by envisioning what I wanted to accomplish each morning.  I work full-time outside of the home, so I do have to include some additional tasks into my morning.  So everyone’s routine will be different.  Maybe you home school and want to have uninterrupted time to work on lessons with your children.  Once I had a list of the tasks I wanted to accomplish each morning, I decided what time I need to leave the house.  I have to drop Tommy off at school each morning so I need to leave the house at 9:00.

     

    So from 9:00AM, I go backwards in time and add my tasks and how long each task will take.  I overestimate greatly the amount of time it will take me to complete a task to build in my cushion for the morning.  By going backwards I will come to the time I have to get up to be able to accomplish everything I want to do each morning.  

      

    to-do-list

    My Morning Routine

    *Alarm Clock goes off at 6:25

     

    6:45 – Out of Bed/Dogs outside and fed – honestly I roll out of bed around 6:50 or so.  But my goal is 6:45!  (this is going to  be a struggle for a bit, I have been lucky if I get out of bed by 7:30 all summer)

     

    7:00 – Switch and Fold Laundry/ Empty Trash Cans – I give myself a ½ hour for this, but I can usually get it done in about 20.  That is my built in cushion in case I didn’t get up in time, which happens most days.

     

    7:30 – Shower/Wipe Down Bathroom/ Spray Shower with Cleaner – I take a very quick shower.  I keep Lysol wipes in the bathroom and wipe the toilet and counter down every morning, which cuts down on cleaning for me.  Remember, I am mom to three boys!   I also spray the shower with a cleaner if I am the last shower of the morning.

     

    7:50 – Wake Tommy – I start waking Tommy at 7:50 – he is a lot like his mommy and not easy to wake up!  So it could take 30 minutes to get him out of bed.  This year we have started setting an alarm clock for Tommy.  He doesn't get up with it yet, but it starts waking him up at least.

     

    2008-09-03-chores8:00 – Daily Chore  - last year I included a daily chore each morning.  I am going to play that by ear this year.  I most likely will be doing my daily chore as part of my bedtime routine as that is more realistic for me. 

     

     My Chore Schedule

    Sunday – Change Bedding, Clean Desk, Fill Med Box

    Monday – Feather Dust

    Tuesday - Vacuum Living & Dining Room

    Wednesday – Sweep/ Mop Kitchen and Bath

    Thursday – Clean Bathrooms

    Friday – Pay Bills/Order Scrips/Clean Picture Window & Doors

     

    9:00 - Leave for School/Work – Off to work!!

     

     

    TIPS:

    Alarm Clocks – have your older children get themselves up with an alarms clock.  We started this with Tommy this year.

     

    Start Out Small – Have one or two things in your morning routine and add items as you can.

     

    Write It Down – This might sound funny, but write down your morning routine!   I need this to keep on task.  I need a guide as I really struggle in the morning.

     

    HOMEWORK:

    Ok…what do you think?  Do you have a morning routine to write down or would one be helpful to you?  I have two things I would like you to do this week.

    1. Use the process above and develop your morning routine. To add an element of accountability, post your morning routine in the comments of this post!

     

    Thank you again for joining me in this challenge!  I am excited and am working hard to get myself back on track as well.  Together we will all have a wonderful start to our school year!!

     

    Stop back on Sunday when we will be discussing our next topic:  Calendars/Command Centeral.   I will be doing a question and answer day next week so post your questions and I will respond to all of them next week!

     

    Don't forget to enter to win the "Back To School" giveaway.  I am holding a Back to School organizing giveaway, so make sure to enter to win.  To enter leave a comment on the give away post.   I will be giving away a “Back to School" organizing pack!   This will get you started on developing your own Control Central!  It will include a great new calendar that I am previewing, Amy Knapp’s Big Grid Family Organizer. 

    calendar_

    Good Luck!!!


     

  • Recipe: Teriyaki Chicken Kabobs

    grilling

    Tried a new grilling recipe again this week.  It was a hit with the entire family. 

    IMG_2246

     Teriyaki Chicken Kabobs

    2lb boneless chicken breast, cubed bite size
    1 bottle teriyaki marinade
    1 pkg red, green and yellow peppers
    1 onion
    1 can pineapple chunks, drained
    skewers

    After cubing chicken, place in bowl and pour marinade over top.  Refrigerate at least 2 hours. Cut vegetables into 1" chunks.  Alternate ingredients onto skewers.  Grill for 12-15 minutes or until chicken is done.  Serve over a bed of rice. 

    IMG_2248

    Happy Grilling!!

  • Menu Plan Monday: August 23rd, 2010

    mealplanmonday_v2

     Menu Plan Monday: August 23 - August 29th 

    My family has been commenting how good meals have been lately at home.  Thank you E-Mealz.com!  The biggest flop from last week was the Tuna Casserole.   I have never found a canned tuna recipe that my family likes.  Meals last week that were well received were the following:

    Chicken Tenders Salad
    Ham & Broccoli Pastry
    BLT Sandwiches/Strawberry Parfaits
    Teriyaki Chicken Kabobs

    I can't say enough about meal planning.  My youngest and I have been suffering through ragweed season.  Since having our meals planned, it has made it very easy for my hubby to step in and assist with meal prep allowing me to rest a bit. 

    Here is what is on the menu this week at our house. 

    Monday Aug, 23 - Hot Dogs/Chilli/ Chips and Dip

    Tues - 24 - One Dish Nacho Bake/ Tossed Salad (A-336)

    Wed - 25 - Parmesan Crusted Chicken/ Broccolli/Chicken Rics (A-339)

    Thurs - 26 - Book Group - Chicken Spread/Cranberry-Peach Salad (A-334)/ Strawberry Cake

    CHICKEN SPREAD

    By Pat Pesta

    5 oz. can chicken or turkey

    3-4 oz. cream cheese, softened

    1/4 cup mayonnaise

    2-3 green onions sliced thin or chopped

    1/2 tsp. Worchester sauce

     

    Cream together cream cheese, mayonnaise and Worchester sauce.

    Drain chicken and break up with fork.

    Mix in green onion and chicken.

    Refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.

    Serve with crackers, bagel chips, etc

    Fri - 27 - French Dip Sandwiches/Cukes n Dip/ Chips (A-332)

    Sat -28 - Rotisserie Chicken (Crockpot)/ Pasta Salad/ Peas

    Sun - 29 - Grilled ribs/ Mac N Cheese/ Cole Slaw/ Corn on the Cob

    Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!  Just remember that a bit of planning will sure make your week go smoother, giving you more free time and saving you money!  For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie and participate in Menu Plan Monday.  Weekly over 400 bloggers share what they have on their menu. 

    I am holding a Back to School organizing giveaway, so make sure to enter to win.  To enter leave a comment on the give away post.   I will be giving away a “Back to School" organizing pack!   This will get you started on developing your own Control Central!  It will include a great new calendar that I am previewing, Amy Knapp’s Big Grid Family Organizer. 

    Happy Eating!!!

  • Pork Chops with Red Cabbage

    Hubby surprised me and offered to make supper tonight.  He had planted Red Cabbage in the garden and wanted to make something with it.  He made Pork Chops with Red Cabbage.  It was very good!!  He received an A for presentation.  Tommy even liked the meal and cleaned his plate!! 

    IMG_2237

    Happy Eating!!

     

  • Menu Plan Monday: August 23 - Sept 5th

    mealplanmonday_v2

     Menu Plan Monday: August 23 - September 5

    Monday Aug, 23 - Hot Dogs/Chilli/ Chips and Dip

    Tues - 24 - One Dish Nacho Bake/ Tossed Salad (A-336)

    Wed - 25 - Parmesan Crusted Chicken/ Broccolli/Chicken Rics (A-339)

    Thurs - 26 - Book Group - Chicken Spread/Cranberry-Peach Salad (A-334)/ Strawberry Cake

    CHICKEN SPREAD

    By Pat Pesta

    5 oz. can chicken or turkey

    3-4 oz. cream cheese, softened

    1/4 cup mayonnaise

    2-3 green onions sliced thin or chopped

    1/2 tsp. Worchester sauce

     

    Cream together cream cheese, mayonnaise and Worchester sauce.

    Drain chicken and break up with fork.

    Mix in green onion and chicken.

    Refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.

    Serve with crackers, bagel chips, etc

    Fri - 27 - French Dip Sandwiches/Cukes n Dip/ Chips (A-332)

    Sat -28 - Rotisserie Chicken (Crockpot)/ Pasta Salad/ Peas

    Sun - 29 - Grilled ribs/ Mac N Cheese/ Cole Slaw/ Corn on the Cob

    ~~~~*~~~~*~~~~*~~~~*~~~~*~~~~*~~~~*~~~~

    Mon - 30 - Balsamic Pork Chops/ Baked Potatoes/ Green Beans (P-337)

    Tues - 31 - Tilapia Almandine/ Veggie Mix - (P-337)

    Wed - 1 - Spaghetti/Garlic Bread

    Thurs - 2- Meet The Teacher - Classic Deli Wrap/ Cukes/ Sour Cream Chips

    Fri - 3 - Crock Pot Sloppy Joes/ Corn Chips/ Celery w/ Ranch

    Sat - 4 - BBQ Chicken/ Cole Slaw// Stovetop Beans (A-337)

    Sun - 5 - Grilled Shrimp Teriyaki/ Grilled Vegs/ Wild Rice (p-338)

    Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!  Just remember that a bit of planning will sure make your week go smoother, giving you more free time and saving you money!  For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie and participate in Menu Plan Monday.  Weekly over 400 bloggers share what they have on their menu. 

    I am holding a Back to School organizing giveaway, so enter to win a package of wonderful "Back to School" organizing items!

    Happy Eating!!!

  • The Most Addictive Mom Blogs....

    Just flipping through my recent issue of Parenting and had to share a few of the Top Mom Blogs.

    All & Sundry - has been documenting her family life "since blogs were called online journals".  She, her husband and two sons live in Seattle.

    Following Elias - Alaska mom who son was born a 1 pund 12 oz preemie.

    The Mom Slant - Chronicles the raising of her three children, with a bit of news, religion, and opinion.

    Weebles Webblog - became a mom after travels, as she puts it "through Infertilistan and Adoptonia."  Her family lives in Denver.

    Well I better scoot and actually get somethings done before bed!   Hope everyone is having a great weekend!!

    Love,