Month: November 2010

  • mealplanmonday_v2

    November 21  - November 28,  2010 

    Happy Thanksgiving, friends.  We have had a busy weekend again with getting ready to go to my parents for Thanksgiving and roller skating party.  This morning I volunteered at the church info desk and had many suggestions for my menu from friends at church.  That sure made it easier to plan our meals!   I wish I could plan meals with friends every week!  So we will be trying a few new recipes this week. 

    Sunday, 21st - Ham and Hashbrown Casserole - Carrots

    Monday, 22st - Tater Tot Hotdish

    Tuesday, 23rd - Spaghetti and Meatballs, Garlic Bread Sticks 

    Wednesday, 24th  - Out of Town - heading to SD

    Thursday, 25th - Out of Town

    Friday, 26th - Out of Town

    Saturday, 27th - Out of Town

    Sunday, 28th  - Out of Town - Soup and Grilled Chesse Sandwiches

     

    mealplanmonday_v2

    November 29th  - December 4th,  2010 

    Monday, 29th - Suzanne's BBQ Ribs (crockpot) & mac and Cheese (blue box) and corn

    Tuesday, 30th - Rotisserie Chicken (crockpot),  Rice Dish and Peas

    Wednesday, 1st - Jeff's Chicken Casserole - Green Beans

    Layer cream of chicken soup
    Diced uncooked chicken breast
    Cr of Chicken Soup
    Stovetop Stuffing

    Bake at 350 for 1 hour. 

    Thursday, 2nd - Tacos for a Crowd

    Friday, 3rd -  Steak and Cheese Sandwiches with Fries

    Saturday, 4th - Oven Fried Fish and Chips

    Grocery Shopping Totals for 11/21

    Aldi - 111.53

    Festival - 7.62

    Walmart - $16.46

    Grand Total for 2 weeks:  135.61 /2 = $67.81 per week for family of 5

    Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!  I love the excitement of holiday planning.  We have much going on, but hope to fit in all our normal holiday traditions.  Menu planning is definitely going to be a time saver this holiday season.  Just remember that a bit of planning will sure make your week go smoother, giving you more free time and saving you money!  For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie and participate in Menu Plan Monday.  Weekly over 400 bloggers share what they have on their menu. 

    Happy Eating!!!

  • Finally, a real update....sort of......

    Finally, a blog post that is not just a menu.   I know I should finally update my blog, but I just don't even know where to begin.  Life has been so crazy and stressful that the last thing I want to do is blog about it.  Ya know what I mean?   But it seems if I wait for life to calm down to blog I will never blog again.   I sure miss blogging.  But know that I blog in my head and think about you all everyday!   

    For the non-whiny bullet point update:

    • My stepson, Erik, went to live with his mother and stepfather.  - I had a very hard time with this.
    • Erik turned 18 years old!
    • My in-laws are no longer able to live indpendently.  My MIL is currently in the nursing home and my FIL has returned from the nursing home to live in their community apartment.  We are working to reunite them again sometime soon, hopefully. 
    • Confirmed DX of PCOS, but knew I had it years ago.  Suggested I go back on my diabetic diet from when I had gestational diabetes and exercise more. Blah....Blah...Blah...I am a terrible patient. 
    • My new job is ALOT of work and I am struggling on how to juggle it all.   I have dropped a few balls and end up working more than 40 hours every week it seems.
    • Hubby and I have started the journey through the Financial Peace University and the teachings of Dave Ramsey.   It is really great. 
    • Tommy is in the 3rd grade and his team won the soccer championship this year!
    • We celebrated his birthday at the roller rink a couple a weeks ago.  He is 9 years old.
    • Tommy was ill for a prolong period of time, but after many Dr apppointments they think it is reflux.  He is finally better and eating again. 
    • My chihuahua starting having seizures....really???  Cut me some slack here!  I already have a diabetic cat that needs insulin shots. I know I am a caregiver by nature, but even I have limits.  (this is sounding a bit whiny isn't it?? - now you know why I have not been blogging.)
    • We plan on going home to spend Thanksgiving with my family for the first time in a few years.  Here we come South Dakota!
    • I have been blessed by a second book group Wine, Women and Words. They are great set of christian women to call my friends. 
    • My husband is amazing.  He has been a great support to me and helping me to adjust the new job and talks me away from the edge on a daily basis.  Well it is less often now, but I don't know what I would do without him. 
    • I am reminded everyday how incredibly blessed I am.......life really is good, just crazy busy! 

    Whew......I am sure I missed something, but that is enough for you to get the idea of how crazy things have been. 

    Some pictures....

    The treehouse is finally done!!!!!!!!!!

    Erik turned 18 years old in September. 

    Tommy's soccer team win the championship play-offs.

    Tommy and Mom enjoyed dressing up for Halloween.

    I will try to post a bit more often, but it always seems that facebook is a bit easier to update.  But I sure miss my xanga friends!!

    Blessings!

     

  • Menu Plan Monday: November 7th - 20th

    mealplanmonday_v2

    November 7  - November 14,  2010 

    Sunday, 7th - Chicken Ceasar Salad, Dinner Rolls - Bread Pudding (use up Raisin Bread)

    Monday, 8th - Book Group- Tater Tot HOtdish

    Tuesday, 9th - FPU - Seafood Alfredo

    Wed, 10th - French Toast, Eggs and Bacon

    Thurs, 11th - Board Meeting- Chilli and Cornbread

    Friday, 12th - Chilli Dogs and Fries

    Sat, 13th - Easy Chicken Cashew Dish, Aisan Slaw, Mandarian Pineapple Salad

    Sun, 14th - Grilled Salmon, Baked Rice, Veggie

    mealplanmonday_v2

    November 15th - November October 20,  2010 

    Mon, 15th - working Late - Spaghetti & Garlic Bread

    Tues, 16th - FPU - Baked Potato Bar, Spinach Salad, Jello

    Wed, 17th - Pancakes, Eggs and Bacon

    Thurs, 18th - Book Group  - Mexican Meatball Soup, Cornbread stick

    Fri, 19th - (Fare for All) - Steak and Cheese Sandwiches with Fries

    Saturday, 20th -  Oven Fried Fish and Chips

    Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!  Just remember that a bit of planning will sure make your week go smoother, giving you more free time and saving you money!  For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie and participate in Menu Plan Monday.  Weekly over 400 bloggers share what they have on their menu. 

    Happy Eating!!!