Month: February 2012

  • Menu Plan Monday: February 27th, 2012

     

    mealplanmonday_v2
     
    2/24/12 - 3/11/12
     
    Save yourself from the 5:00 chaos of "what is for dinner?" by meal planning.  Most people say to me, I could never do that!   I suggest you give meal planning a try for one week and see if you don't have a better week.  Now, don't plan difficult meals, simply find quick meals and purchase the items for those meals.  Trust me, you won't know how you ever managed before.   McDonald's will still be in busy if you aren't driving through weekly due to no idea what to make for supper.   Your family will thank you!   So set aside one hour to make your weekly menu and shopping list!
     
    New Favorites from Last Week include the following:
     
    Baked Shrimp Scampi /  - made this for Valentine's Day and it was a BIG HIT!
     
    Slow Cooker Fajitas (8-9 hours)
     
     
     
     
    I did something a little different this week and I need your opinion about how well this works.  It seems to work fine on my side of the screen, but I want to know what your experience is, so please comment!   Instead of linking to each recipe, I put most of my recipes into my google calendar.   I have started using my google calendar for menu planning.   It is great!!
     
    What I do is put my menu plan and recipes in Google Calendar, if my family likes a meal, I simple edit that entry and have that event repeat every 10 weeks.  So we will eat a favorite meal approximately 5 times a year.   I have been doing this for a few weeks and it makes meal planning even quicker, since my future menu plan is building itself.  
     
    If we don't feel like eating what comes up or I want to try a new recipe, I simple delete that incident of the recipe and add my new recipe.   The old recipe will show up again in 10 weeks.   It is a fast way to make sure family favorites are made again.  My family's frequent complaint is that once I make a meal and they love it....I never make it again.  Now they know I won't lose the recipe and they will get to enjoy that meal again in 10 weeks. 
     
    Here is where I need you help!!  Please take a look at the embedded Google calendar at the bottom of this post and let me know if it works for you.   You can use the arrows to switch days/ weeks and click on the event (meal) to see the recipe.   I really value your input as I don't what to change how I post recipes if it won't work for my readers!   Thanks a million for your help!  Now, onto our menu plan......
     
     
    Our Menu for the Next Two Weeks:  2/24/12 - 3/11/12
     
    24th  - Crustless Quiche/Cantaloupe/Biscuits
     
    25th -  White Castle Sliders and Fries
     
    26th - Cheddar Ham Soup - Simple Delicious page 124
     
    27th - Unstuffed Cabbage
     
    28th - Baked Cheese Ravioli - Salad
     
    29th - Chicken Broccoli and Rice - Salad
     
    1st - Monte Crisco Sandwich, Apples and Chips (Emealz 405)
     
    2nd - Meatless French Bread Pizza
     
    3rd - Country Style BBQ Ribs/ Roasted Red Potatoes/ Hot Cinnamon Apples
     
    4th - Rotisserie Chicken, Rice and Corn
     
    5th - Pizza Sandwiches/ Carrots & Celery with Dip
     
    6th - Mom Works Late - Crockpot Beef Vegetable Soup - Fit it and Forget It page 133
     
    7th - Mom works Late - Stir Fry
     
    8th - Beefaroni - Veggie - Salad
     
    9th - Tilapia Almandine/ Veggies/ Baked Potato
     
    10th - MCS Gala - Tex/Mex Casserole/Corn Bread
     
    11th - Buy Groceries - Meatloaf/Mashed Potatoes/Corn
     
     

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie. and participate in Menu Plan Monday.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week!!!

     

    P.S.  Please make sure you comment to let me know how the embedded google Calendar is working for you.   Thanks Million!

    If you are unable to access longer recipes try going to my Menu Planning Calendar directly.

    https://www.google.com/calendar/embed?src=cc7g3k4mq73k1ruqq6r7tamhkk%40group.calendar.google.com&ctz=America/Chicago

    Recipes for next time:

    Chicken wih Mushroom Artichoke Sautee

    Peppermint Patty Cupcakes

    Baked Potato Soup

    Hot Fudge Cake

    Easy Irish Soda Bread

    Baked Ziti Casserole

     

     

     

  • Menu Plan Monday: Feb 13th Edition

    mealplanmonday_v2

    February 12th   - February 26, 2012

    12th - Smothered Hamburger Steak/ Mashed Potatoes/ Veggie

    13th - working late - Easy Chicken and Rice

    14th - Baked Shrimp Scampi / Baked Potato / Veggie

    15th - (Wed - Surgery) Crab Salad Croissants - Simple Delicious Cookbook pg 62

    16th - Spaghetti

    17th - (Friday Movie Night) Tacos for a Crowd

    18th - Chilli (crockpot)

    19th -  Pecan Crusted SalmonCreamy Italian Noodles  - Green Beans

    20th -  (Monday) Slow Cooker Fajitas (8-9 hours)

    21st -  (Tuesday) - Sausage Gravy and Biscuits , Scrambled Eggs, Bacon

    22nd - Chicken Broccoli and Rice (quick meal) - Salad

    Ingredients:
    2 cups diced cooked chicken
    1 1/2 cups water
    1 can Cream of Chicken Soup
    2 cups Broccoli (I use frozen, straight out of the freezer)
    2 cups Instant Rice

    Process:
    In a large skillet, make sure that you chicken is warm and put aside in a bowl. Then mix water and soup together and bring to a boil (now is when you add any seasonings). Turn down and mix in all ingredients remaining. Cover and cook on medium/low for 5 minutes. If you are using frozen broccoli it will take up to another 5 minutes.

    23rd - Bruschette Chicken Bake /Salad/ Veggie  

    24th - (Friday Movie Night) White Castle Sliders and Fries

    25th - Crustless Quiche, Sausage, Cantloupe and Biscuits

    26th - Quick Baked Cod/ Rice / Carrots

     

    Recipes to Try:

    Oven Baked Fries
    In and Out Burgers
    Movie Night Ideas

    For more Menu Planning inspiration stop by and visit Laura at Organizing Junkie. and particpate in Menu Plan Monday.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week!!!