Month: December 2001

  • Tommy with Friends!!
    noah2
    The neighbor boy loves to help with Tommy.

    Nicholas & Tommy
    Tommy had a friend over
    Tommy's friend is 2 months older.

     

  • Tommy's Baptism

    baptism2

    baptism

    My sons: Josh, Tommy & Erik

  • hat1-ghappy-gw

    Hello everyone!!  I hope you have enjoyed your holidays with your family and friends.  Life has been a world wind for us since the 16th of December.  WHEW....but things are all calming down now.   That is a very good thing!

    On the 16th of December, Tommy was baptized, so we had a house full of out of town guests for the weekend.  It was so nice to see everyone though!  

    On the 18th, I hosted a cookie exchange party with the neighborhood ladies.  We enjoyed appetizers and peppermint patty drinks.  We even managed to get all out cookies exchanged. 

    On the 21st, we celebrated Christmas with our children.  It was nice and small, quiet and calm.  Tommy was all into it!  Not really...LOL!!      I received a wonderful picture frame (seashells) from my hubby with a picture of the Sunrise on our honeymoon on Sanibel Island.  The inscription said:

    Everyday of my life with you is but
    another of an endless honeymoon
    on a sandy, shell-covered beach. 
    Merry Christmas!
    I Love You!

    Isn't that lovely.  He is such a sweet guy.  We had a limit this year of only 25.00, but he even managed to get me a set of measuring cups and spoons.  (what I asked for!!)

    Erik received a number of GI Joe things for Christmas and really enjoyed playing with them.  Josh received a remote controlled Tony Hawk skateboarder.   I really scaled down what the boys received this year, I think we all have enough stuff!  I wanted them to understand the true meaning of Christmas.   I think they are getting there!

    On the 22nd, we hosted Christmas for my hubby's side of the family.  It was a lot of fun.  My MIL and SIL made lasagna.  The house was full, and the kids all received wonderful presents.  It was fun.  

    The next morning we left for the 6 hour drive to my parents home in South Dakota.  Six hours in a car with a newborn.  Are we crazy?????  Yes!!!  Tommy managed the drive well, but when we got to SD he screamed for three hours straight.  I think it is a combination of gas and constipation that was making his tummy hurt.  Needless to say we was not a happy little man.  We called the Dr the next morning and we then started adding prune juice to Tommy's formula and got rid of the constipation.  Tommy LOVED the prune juice in his bottle.

    We stayed in SD for three nights, then headed back to MN.  Again when we got home Tommy screamed for a number of hours.  I think the drive is too much for him or something.  But he is doing fine now!

    I saved the best news for LAST!!    TOMMY IS SLEEPING ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT!!!  Yes, you heard right!!!   We are so HAPPY!!!!!!   Last Friday night, Tommy went to bed around 11:00am and Saturday morning, hubby and I woke up and looked at each other in disbelief.   I said to hubby, "Did you get up with the baby last night".  "Nope" he said.  So of course our minds went to he *must be dead.  LOL!!  So I go in the nursery and look at Tommy.  He looks ok, but I can't tell if he is breathing.  So Paul goes in and he comes back and says, well I could tell if he was breathing, but his hands are warm.  Of course I point out that he could have just died, who knows how long it takes to get cold hands!!    ROFL!!  

    Finally to save our sanity, Tommy made a little noise and we smiled!!  He is ALIVE and he SLEPT THROUGH THE NIGHT!!!   He has been sleeping great ever since.  He usually goes to bed between 9 and 11 and sleeps until 5 or 8.   

    Today Tommy was up at 7:00 am , which is just great!   He had his bottle and is back sleeping again.  He went to bed last night around 11:00.   He is such a joy to have.  

    I can't wait to get home at night from work to hold him.  He is smiling all the time now.  He sees Daddy or I and he smiles, ear to ear.   He is talking and cooing all the time.  I am so enjoying this time with him.   He received the sparkling Symphony Baby Gym from Santa and enjoys batting at the toys.  It is hard to believe he is batting at toys already.  He has been doing that since December 17th.  

    Next week Tommy has his 2 month Dr's appointment and starts his baby shots.  ARGH!!  Paul is going with me for the appointment I know I will cry when Tommy gets his shots.  

    Well time to shower and head to work!!   Hope everyone has a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

  • Lasagna


    Serves: 8-10


    1 lb. Lasagna noodles
    1 lb. ground beef
    1 Cup onion, chopped
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    2 tsp. SUGAR
    1 T. salt
    1-1/2 tsp. basil leaves
    1/4 tsp. pepper
    1 can (28 oz) tomatoes, broken up
    2 cans (6 oz) tomato paste
    1 egg, beaten
    1 container (15 oz) Ricotta cheese
    1 T. dried parsley flakes
    1/2 tsp salt
    1 lb. Mozzarella cheese, grated
    3/4 Cups Parmesan cheese, grated


    Prepare lasagna noodles.  Put 8 quarts of water in pan.  Bring water to a rapid boil.  Add Lasagna noodles.  Return water to a rapid boil.  Cook uncovered, stirring frequently for 12-15 minutes.  Drain.


    Cook ground beef and drain excess fat.  Add onion and garlic, stir and cook 5 minutes.  Add the next 6 ingredients and simmer 20 minutes.  Combine egg, Ricotta cheese, parsley and salt.  To bottom of a 9x13" baking dish, spoon about 1-1/2 cups of meat sauce.  Layer 1/3 lasagna, 1/3 meat sauce, 1/3 Ricotta, 1/3 Mozzarella and 1/3 Parmesan.  Repeat layering.  Cover with foil.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.  Remove foil and bake uncovered 25 minutes longer.  Let stand 10 minutes before cutting. 





    I figured since I had to type this recipe up for my mother, I would add it here as well.  :)    Slowly but surely I will have all my families favorite recipes typed and saved.  Though I am sure we will never be done as I always find *new favorites.

  • Christmas Double Brownies


           Melt 2 squares (2 oz) unsweetened chocolate and ½ cup butter over low heat in saucepan. Mix in bowl: 1 cup   sugar,  2 eggs, ½ cup flour, 1 tsp. vanilla, ½ cup chopped nuts (I use walnuts or pecans).  Add cooled chocolate to mixture and blend.


      Bake @ 350 for 15 minutes.  Cool slightly 


          Spread with mixture of 3 cups powdered sugar, 1-2 T butter melted, 1-2 tsp. almond, mint flavor, 4-5 T milk,
    green color. Chill in fridge. Once powdered sugar is set, spread with 6 squares (6 oz) semisweet chocolate and 6 T butter melted once that is cooled a bit.  Store in fridge.





    The recipe above is one I have eaten, but not made.  My friend Rhonda from work made these and brought them to the potluck yesterday.  I thought they were YUMMY!!!

  • Quick Holiday Appetizer


    Christmas Cheese Ball


    1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
    2 cups (8 ounces) shredded Cheddar Cheese
    2 green onions, chopped
    1 jar (2 ounces) diced pimientos, drained
    2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
    2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce


    **Assorted crackers


    In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy.  Beat in the cheddar cheese, onions, pimientos, butter and Worcestershire sauce.  Press into a small bowl; smooth top.  Cover and refrigerate.  Remove from the refrigerator 15 minutes before unmolding.  Serve with crackers.   YIELD: 1 cheese ball (2-1/2 cups)





    This is a very hectic week for us.   Sunday was Tommy's baptism so we had family from out of state here for that.  It was so nice to have a long weekend with family. 


    This evening we had a Cookie Exchange Party.....I had 6 ladies over and we enjoyed socializing, appetizers and drinks.    Oh, yeah and we exchanged cookies.   A friend brought her baby over too, he is two months older than Tommy.  We took their picture together, it turned out so very cute.   Tommy just laid his head on that little boys shoulder. 


    Tomorrow is our Christmas potluck at work, I made the above cheese ball for it.   We also reveal our Secret Santa.  I have no idea at all who mine is.   Well time for me to post this and get to bed!!  Tommy is asleep, and it is only 11:13!!!  But boy am I tired, Tommy was up for the morning at 4:00 am.


    I received my new Quick Cooking mag in the mail today so I am off to read in bed :)

  • BUSY, BUSY, Busy............


    Whoa.....where has the time gone.   It has been few days since I posted.  I used to be able to post over my lunch break at work, but now they changed the Internet rules.......ARGH.  


    Yep, I am back to work.  ARGH.....you would think I was gone for a year or at least the amount of work I have to get done by the end of the month seems like it should take a year.    Plans, plans, and budgets for the new year everywhere I look.   The office it all decorated by our various secret santas.   That is always alot of fun.  I know who a few of them are, but have no clue on who mine could be.   But I *do know it is not Exclamation................


    (Ok, I am going to remember to save this piece of work periodically as last night I typed a long post and lost it   when my computer locked up)


    What have I been doing with my time??????  Well let me tell you.   I returned to work on Thursday of last week, so that eats up some of my time.   


    The weekend was a low kid weekend meaning we only have Tommy home with us as the other two children are with our ex's.   It was a very busy weekend that is for sure.  Let me see if I can remember what we did.   Saturday I spent the day cooking and cleaning.   Our neighbor gave us 10 lbs of ham, Canadian bacon and meatballs.  Also 5 pds cheese and pizza sauce.  So we had a mini cooking session on Saturday, plus I watched my niece and nephew for some reason.


    I like to keep our freezer stocked with meals, that way I have meals to pull out during the week when I work later.  This type of cooking is called many things, freezer cooking, Once A Month Cooking, etc.  Though I can't cook for a whole month.  That is too much for me!!  This is a cheaper too....I tend to be pretty thrifty, drives hubby nuts.   So here is what I accomplished during my mini cooking session on Saturday with my hubby. 


    Saturday we cut up 1/2 of the ham for lunch meat and with the rest we made 4 pans of scalloped potatoes and ham and a huge kettle of split pea soup.    We made 30 meatball subs.   The Canadian bacon is sliced and frozen.  I will use that to make breakfast sandwiches after the holidays.   So that was Saturday's cooking adventure.  We took over a meal of each to my in-laws.  They live in senior housing complex in the next town over. 


    Sunday we got up and went to church as usual.   Then I put  a Turkey in the oven as it was taking up too much room in our ever filling freezer.  You won't believe how many meals you can get out of one turkey.   I made 2 pans of turkey divan, 4 nine inch Turkey Pot Pies and a big kettle of Turkey Soup.   Argh....that is enough cooking sessions until after the holidays.   I just finished up the Turkey session tonight by making the Pot Pies.  My in-laws will be over on Sunday and I have three more meals for them.   They will like that.  


    After the holidays I have to cook up the 6 bags of chicken breasts I have in the freezer.  Good thing, hubby and I love to cook together.    If I didn't cook this way on the weekends, my family would be eating out of a can all week as I don't have time to make a real supper every night.    This may seem like a lot of work, but it saves huge amounts of time and money for us. 


    This weekend my parents and brother and sister-in-law are coming to visit.   Tommy is getting baptized on Sunday.   They will be getting here on Saturday and staying through Monday.   So I have alot of meals to make for them too...........I have that all planned out, just have to get to the grocery store.  There should be about 20 or so of us here to celebrate Tommy's baptism. 


    SO I am not going into the office on Monday, but of course I brought work home to do.  Tuesday, back to work and I am having a party at our house that evening.  A cookie Exchange party with 6 girlfriends.  And yep, you right I haven't made any cookies yet.  Hmmmm...when will I fit that in?????  Friday night, maybe???


    The rest of the week looks normal......same old, same old.  Then On the next Saturday we are having Xmas with my hubby's side of the family at our house.  Should be around 20 of us or more.   Good thing that is potluck, everyone helps out on that one.  


    Sunday morning  we are leaving to go to South Dakota to my parents for the holidays.  WHEW............then I can relax a bit.   We will be there until Wednesday.   What a busy, busy time for us!


    I have been getting Xmas cards in the mail, but don';t have mine done yet...........


    Well I am off to bed, I have to be up early and to the Dr's office for a fasting glucose tolerance test.  I am being rechecked to make sure I am no longer diabetic after the pregnancy.   It is a three hour test so I will take paperwork with me to do............yep you guessed it...Plans, plans and budgets.............................LOL!!!  (only Exclamation gets my frustration with the plans)  BTW can paperwork reproduce when you close a manila folder???  Who needs birth control, I need paperwork control!


    Night....seems like baby is asleep for the night.  I better get there myself....not bad it is before midnight!!!  Good boy, Tommy!

  • Sunday afternoons.........AAAAH.....I was going to post about our weekend and all we accomplished, but I vote for a nap. Later going to catch a little nap, while baby is watching the game with Daddy.

  • wakingRETURNING TO WORK...........

    It is true....my maternity leave is over .  Don't get me wrong I like my job, but it can be a bit overwhelming at time.  I returned to a desk piled full of mail to go through, a full email box and phone messages and notes to take care of.  I returned to work on Thursday.  I think this was the best way to do it, I spent Thursday and Friday just digging out so to speak. 

    Now I feel a bit more able to face it all on Monday and get busy with some real work .  I of course had to put pictures on Tommy up to look at during the day.  I really did miss him alot.  People would ask me how it was and I would have to tell them it was fine, no big deal, otherwise I would cry.  But Tommy was home with Daddy and that is good.

    Everyone at my work place is very understanding and kind.  We won't even go in to how Tommy slept the night before my first day back to work...........Gee thanks Tommy!

    CHRISTMAS SPIRIT.............

    I have all our decorations all done, which is nice since my family is coming in two weeks for Tommy's baptism.   I returned to work in time for the Secret Santa Festivities.  That is always fun.   It made being back at work a bit more tolerable.  My secret santa has been fun so far, they have decorated my cude, left me some candy, a xmas tree pin, and a ball with a snowman in it.   I have no clue who my secret santa could be.

    BABY SLEEPING????!!!!!!!

    Tommy sleeping.....well yes, but only on his schedule which does NOT coorespond to mine.  Wednesday night before I returned to work, he was in rare form.  He stayed up fussing and screaming from 9:00pm to 3:30am.  ARGH!!  I finally put him in the swing and slept on the living room floor. 

    Last night I said forget this and I put him in the swing and slept on the couch until his 2:00am feeding at which time he allowed me to put him in his crib and I could go to my bed.

    Tonight, he is still up and it is about 11:30.  I am going to finish up this entry and go to bed myself. 

    DR. APPOINTMENT...........

    Thursday I had my 6-week Dr's appointment, which went jsut fine.  I have to go in next Friday and have a gloucose tolerance test ran to make sure I am no longer diabetic.  Hubby had his physical today and all was fine.  He hadn't had one since getting out of the army like 10 years ago.   What is it with men and going to Dr's or Dentists????????????

    Well I am off to bed, busy day tomorrow...(better make a list tonight before I go to bed).   I am so list anal.........:)

  • Hmmmm......so true.....it is very seldom I actually read forwards and I never forward them on, but I liked this one, so I HAD to share. If you have already read it ....SORRY!!

    Subject: A Donkey Tale

    An old man, his grandson and their donkey set out on a journey one day. The boy rode on the donkey and the old man walked. As they went along they passed some people who remarked it was a shame the old man was walking and the boy was riding. The man and boy thought maybe the critics were right, so they changed positions.

    Later, they passed some people that remarked,
    "What a shame, he makes that little boy walk."
    They then decided they both would walk! Soon they passed some more people who thought they were stupid to walk when they had a decent donkey to ride.

    So, they both rode the donkey. Now they
    passed some people that shamed them by saying how awful to put such a load on a poor donkey. The boy and man said they were probably right, so they decided to carry the donkey. As they crossed the bridge, they lost their grip on the animal and he fell into the river and drowned.

    The moral of the story?

    If you try to please everyone, you might as well kiss your ass good-bye.