December 21, 2001

  • Lasagna


    Serves: 8-10


    1 lb. Lasagna noodles
    1 lb. ground beef
    1 Cup onion, chopped
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    2 tsp. SUGAR
    1 T. salt
    1-1/2 tsp. basil leaves
    1/4 tsp. pepper
    1 can (28 oz) tomatoes, broken up
    2 cans (6 oz) tomato paste
    1 egg, beaten
    1 container (15 oz) Ricotta cheese
    1 T. dried parsley flakes
    1/2 tsp salt
    1 lb. Mozzarella cheese, grated
    3/4 Cups Parmesan cheese, grated


    Prepare lasagna noodles.  Put 8 quarts of water in pan.  Bring water to a rapid boil.  Add Lasagna noodles.  Return water to a rapid boil.  Cook uncovered, stirring frequently for 12-15 minutes.  Drain.


    Cook ground beef and drain excess fat.  Add onion and garlic, stir and cook 5 minutes.  Add the next 6 ingredients and simmer 20 minutes.  Combine egg, Ricotta cheese, parsley and salt.  To bottom of a 9×13″ baking dish, spoon about 1-1/2 cups of meat sauce.  Layer 1/3 lasagna, 1/3 meat sauce, 1/3 Ricotta, 1/3 Mozzarella and 1/3 Parmesan.  Repeat layering.  Cover with foil.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.  Remove foil and bake uncovered 25 minutes longer.  Let stand 10 minutes before cutting. 





    I figured since I had to type this recipe up for my mother, I would add it here as well.  :)    Slowly but surely I will have all my families favorite recipes typed and saved.  Though I am sure we will never be done as I always find *new favorites.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *