Month: March 2003

  • It is getting to be that time....YAWN!  Thought I would pop in and say hello!   I am finally on track again, at least so far.  I actually completed all my weekly cleaning except for the vacuuming as Tommy was already in bed.  Monday cleaning day was a success.  This is the first time in weeks that i have been able to get it all done in one hour on Monday!


    After work tonight I went to the chiropractor.  I my neck and back are feeling a little bit better.  After my appointment I stopped at the grocery store and bought my potassium food; bananas, OJ and potatoes.  I am suppose to go to the Dr tomorrow to see what they want to do.  My primary physician is on vacation so I have to see a new doctor.   I am not really thrilled about that since my case is fairly complicated.  This potassium problem could become serious. 


    Tommy and I took Daddy and Josh to get haircuts tonight.  My handsome guys look all nice again.  Then we came home and hung out.  I tried to watch a new show on HGTV - Mission: Organization.  It is a show about organizing actully.  I saw about 1/2 of it, Tommy decided he needed to sit on the potty during the show so my TV watching was cut short.  My luck, I plan on watching 1/2 hour of TV and that is when Tommy have to use the potty. 


    I am off to put my clean clothes away and call it a night.   Monday's are my favorite night to go to bed....clean sheets!!  I love crawling into bed with nice fresh sheets....Yeah I know.  I am weird.  Night!

  • Argh....just got a call from my allergist.  My potassium levels are on the low side.  He wants me to continue to take the new med, but follow up with my primary physician.  I called the clinic and my primary physician is on vacation. 


    I am hoping another Doctor will get a hold of me regarding this today.  My allergist said to eat three sources of potassium a day until I can see my Dr. 


    This is weird, I wonder why my potassium is low??  Mine was 3.3.  The nurse said low normal is 3.5.

  • I wrote this previously, right after church, but then xanga had it for lunch.   Hmmm...what great things did I say....I have no idea!


    Last night I finished watching my movie White Oleander, after all our guests left.  


    SUNDAY


    We all slept in a bit late and had to hurry to make it to church on time.  We made it in plenty of time!   They had a nice choir at Church today, Teen Challenge, which is a Christian rehab organization.  They sang and one woman shared her recovery story.  After church we went home and all made brunch together.  Erik made the scrambled eggs and refrigerator rolls.  Joshua made the French Toast.  I did the sausages and monitored the boys.   Tommy watched from his highchair, saying MOM...MOM...MOM.


    After brunch we all enjoyed our quiet time.  I quickly check my email and allowed xanga to eat my post, then I read/napped.  AAhh...my favorite Sunday activity.   Tommy took a nice long nap.  Erik worked on homework with Dad.  Josh of course was on the computer working on his website. 


    After our naps, Tommy and I went outside for bit.  I was a pretty layed back day.  I did get a couple of loads of Laundry done though.  


    I did exercise a little bit this evening, but got very winded quickly.  I hope my asthma will allow me to do my regular exercises soon.   I best scoot and get to bed,  you all know how much I love Mondays!!!!!  YUCK!!!


    *** COMMENTS***


    Frejaluna - I have to admit I did not read the book, white Oleander, before I watched the movie.  I have the book on my shelf though.  I will have to read it now, since it is better.    I just love Paige's bike...she looks very cool on it!  I think you have way more patience with shopping than I do!


    Tandis - I don't know if it is age or what, but I don't seem to get into horror books and movies as much anymore.  I used to love them!! 


    **MONDAY TO DO: **



    • One load Laundry
    • Change Sheets - Ours & Tom's
    • Dust Living Room
    • Sweep - Kitchen, Baths and Entryway
    • Mop - Kitchen and Bath
    • Vacuum Living Room and Hall
    • Mirrors & Doors
    • Call my New Mom
    • Make Chiropractor Appointment



      Sin makes its own hell, and goodness its own heaven.  - Mary Baker Eddy

  • The weekend is 1/2 over...;-(  Today was busy.   We did a Sam's Club run this morning and got diapers and a present for a B-day Party Erik was going to.  He got home and went to the birthday party at the Shore view Community Center, swimming....YEAH!!  Paul and I took Tommy to the library with us to pick up some books.  Tommy of course picked out a DVD of course.  I picked up three books, but have no idea which to read first.  Each of them are only a 2 week checkout.  GRRR>....I hate when that happens. 


    I spent the afternoon finishing my book, Middlesex.  I really enjoyed this book.  Not sure what I will read next.  Once gt finished the book, I mopped the kitchen floor and did a very little bit of straightening.  We were having people over to play the "friends Trivia" game my I bought. 


    Before everyone came over we watched a movie Paul had rented, "Ghost Ship".  It was ok, I had a hard time holding my attention.  That reminds me I still have one more movie to watch, White Oleander. 


    It is now after 10:00 and all our guests have left.  WHEW!!!  I have a bit of cleanup to do, but not too bad.  Just kitchen stiff mostly.   I think I will head to bed and watch some more of White Oleander.  


    Hope your weekend is going well!!  ENJOY!

  • Hello - It is FRIDAY FINALLY!!!!  I should come in and work this weekend, but I have plenty of things around the house that have gone undone!   I need to get caught up around there too! 


    I have been so unorganized the last two weeks. It is really driving me nuts.  So hopefully I can get on track with week and post and do a to do list!!   I do much better when I do.  I was suppose to have a blood draw this morning to check my potassium level, but forgot.  I will have to leave work early and go and have it done.  I am on call and that makes it a bit more difficult. 


    Well here is to a wonderful weekend of getting caught up!!!  Hope you enjoy your weekend too!



    Failure is impossible. - Susan B. Anthony

  • Hello....Yes, I am still around.  Argh...this darn work keeps getting in the way!   I am the social worker on-call this week so at the office a lot. 


    Wednesday I actually was home.  We forgot that due to Spring Break, Families First was not in session.  So I played with Tommy until bedtime and curled up with a book for the evening.  I have no idea what time I went to sleep, but it was early. 


    Today was an early day at work again.   Tommy stopped by my work for half an hour to say hi to everyone.  This evening I went to my first face to face book group.  It was very fun, and was a really fun group of ladies.  There was 8 of us there, 5 of the women I know from work.   We discussed "the Age of Innocence" by Edith Wharton.  It was a very lively discussion.  I think I will really enjoy this group.  New month we will be reading a lighter book, The Sweet Potato Queens big-ass cookbook (and financial planner). 


    May - Delta Wedding - Eudora Welty
    June - Empress of One - Faith Sullivan
    July - Dress Lodger - Sheri Holman
    August - The Prize Winner of Defiance Ohio: How my mother raised 10 kids on 25 words or less.  - Terry Ryan


    Hubby has the kids all in bed when I got home from book group.  So I think I will embrace the quiet and crawl in bed with my book, Middlesex and see if I can finally finish this book! 


    Have a great Evening.......

  • One of those days again.......................


    Work was busy and I had to leave early for a Dr appointment.  I was following up with my allergist since my hospitalization.  My regular physician had been following me, but she said she wasn't sure what else to do so I should go to my allergist. 


    He wasn't happy about the hospitalization at all.  Talking to him I am told that I was much sicker than I really thought I was.  I think the whole thing was more serious than I realized.  We are still unsure of the reason for this episode, since I supposedly only have mild asthma, which he doesn't think is the case anymore.  JOY!  Anyway...he added another new steroid and told me that I would need to take the entire long list of meds that I got at the hospital for at least one year.  So double doses of steroids for a year.  That will help with my weight lose, NOT!  Which he pointed out to me and said to "buy a bag of lettuce", since the steroids increase your appetite so much.   But I just hope I can sleep at night after I add this new steroid. 


    Let's see what else he said...(my mom always wants all the details). I told him that I really wasn't feel back to how I did prior to the hospitalization, and he said he wasn't surprised as I was very sick and it would probably take a few more months or longer.  MONTHS???  GEEZ......  The new medication that he added contains allbuterol, which caused my heart problems, so I have to have my potassium levels checked on Friday to make sure I am ok taking this med.  I think that was about it...but some lectures about the seriousness of my condition and the need to go to the ER immediately if problems, etc. 


    The depressing part is that I just figured out how much my meds will cost a month and with co-pays and the one I have to buy over the counter, I will spend about 81.00 a month for the next year for this regiment he has put me on.  ARGH!! Please God...hubby needs a job!  Also depressing is knowing I won't be back to myself and be able to do the things I could before, like walk a flight of stairs, for at least 3 more months....that is hard.  I'm SUPER JEN and I have a hard time with only being able to do about 1/2 of the things I need to.  Ok....yes, I am whining!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    ok...I have another whiny story too, but is getting too late and need to head to bed.  I will save that one for tomorrow.  Needless to say we had Erik's conferences tonight and his teacher doesn't seem to have a clue.  She acts like Erik does things on purpose, not listen etc. ......excuse me....he has ADHD and Developmental Delays.........  Argh...more on comments she made that I didn't care for..........GRRRRRRR


    Later...have a great night.......I am off to work early again tomorrow...will it ever let up???????

  • Question of the day:


    How can some people so closely resemble a brick wall????

  • Good Afternoon.....court was a long wait, but quickly done.  I spent the afternoon figuring out budget cuts.  There is a reason I became a social worker; I'm not the best mathematician.  One last meeting and I'm am going home to clean up a bit.  I need to be at work early again tomorrow.  It is starting to look like a rough week again.  How does that keep happening to me???  ARGH!!  Say NO, Jen!


    I went for a walk this weekend, not even a very long one and my legs are still sore!!  Man, one week in bed and I have lost everything...plus I haven't been able to exercise in over a month due to my asthma.  This weekend was the first walk I have taken.  Feels like I am starting from scratch, muscle aches and I gained back most of the weight that I had lost.  It wasn't much, but I am going in the wrong direction..that is frustrating!  Seems like time to re-evaluate my goals again.......Off to a meeting...LATER!

  • Early morning here in MN.  I have to appear in court early this morning for a conservatorship hearing with one of my clients.  So off I go.  I hope we are called into court early.  I don't want to wait all day there.  It is about an hour drive in rush hour to get to court so I will have to leave shortly.  ARGH!!!  


    Not much going on today.  I have the two appointments, court this morning and a meeting at 4:00.  So I will be home a bit late, but not terrible.  I should be home by 6:00.   Tonight is my cleaning night.  Argh...for once I might actually be able to do it, since I will be home before bedtime.  


    This week is spring break so Josh is off of school for the week.  I am not sure what he will be doing.   He did bring the x-box home from his Dad's.  I won't buy those sort of things for my kids. 


    I am still plugging along at reading Middlesex.  I have a bit of driving to do today so I should be able to listen to more of Age of Innocence.  I best finish getting ready for work and head out of here.  Have a great day, if you can considering it is MONDAY!!!


    MONDAY TO DO:



    • One load Laundry
    • Change Sheets - Ours & Tom's
    • Dust Living Room
    • Sweep - Kitchen, Baths and Entryway
    • Mop - Kitchen and Bath
    • Vacuum Living Room and Hall
    • Mirrors & Doors