Month: February 2008

  • How do you let go of being upset, when you truly feel you are owed an apology?  I have just let go of these things too many times.  I am so tired of it and frustrated.   It makes me so incredibly sad.

  • MUSHROOM SWISS BURGERS

    1-1/2 pounds of ground beef
    1 pound sliced fresh mushrooms
    1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed cr of Mushroom soup, undiluted
    1cup water
    6 slices Swiss Cheese
    6 hamburger buns, split

    Shape beef into six patties.  (I have a press that makes them all pretty much the same size). In a large skillet, cook patties over med-high heat for 5-7 minutes on each side of until meat is no longer pink.  Remove to paper towel; drain, reserving 2 tablespoons drippings.  Saute mushrooms in drippings until tender.

    Meanwhile, in a mico-safe bowl, combine soup and water.  Cover and microwave on high for 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 minutes or until heated through.  Return patties to skillet.  Stir in soup.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 3 minutes.

    Top each patty with cheese.  Remove from the heat, cover and let stand until cheese is melted.  Serve on buns with mushrooms. 

    Simple and Delicious - Feb 2008

  • I made the Mushroom Swiss Burgers from my menu for supper tonight.  They were a big hit.  We will certainly have those again!!   YUMMY!

  • OFFICIAL VITAMIN EXPERIMENT.....

    I received my order of SuperMom vitamins in the mail the other day.   I started taking the vitamins on Saturday.  I am not sure I am feeling any better, but we will see.  Hubby also joined me and it taking them daily as well. 

    The one supplement I am have really liked is Tummy Tune-Up.   It is a probiotic bacteria supplement.  I have been giving it to Tommy and his tummy is finally starting to feel better after over a week of complaining about a sick feeling tummy.  

    My order was missing one item I ordered so I will need to call the company on Monday and inform them.   Hope you are all having a great morning. 

  • Yesterday....

    Saturday was busy after I went to get my haircut we all went to the library and Walmart.  The boys did pretty well while we were out so that was nice.   Our evening was full of laundry, dishes, bathing the dog and other weekly chores.  We were also babysitting our niece for the evening.  

    After the kids were in bed, I tried to log onto SSIS a system at work that I enter my work time into.  It would not work.  I was not happy.  I set time aside to actually get caught up on work and I can't.  ARGH!!!  

    Today....

    Tommy and I had to be at Church early as it is the Sunday that the children from the parochial school assist with the service.  Tommy sang with his fellow students at every service.   I went to the 8:15 service for  bit so I could watch Tommy sing.  The kids did great.  I wish I would have bought my video camera.  I didn't think of it though.  

    I worked at the pancake breakfast put on by the school from 9:00 until 12:00.  I bused tables the entire time and was on my feet the whole time.   My knee didn't like that much.   I was covered in syrup and sticky by the end of the pancake feed!

    I came home, had lunch and took a little nap.  The boys were playing Wii and hubby was with them.   When I got up I got the boys started on something new as hubby wanted to watch a TV show of his.  

    Everytime things start going better with Erik, something happens to put me back to the reality of our life.   My hubby was upset with Erik as Erik had done some vandalism in our yard.   He took a shovel to one of the tree and put huge gashes in it.   I am not sure when he did this.  But obviously it was when either my hubby or I were in charge of supervising him.   He also was throwing sidewalks salt all over the yard.  I can understand him doing that once, as he didn't understand that it would hurt the lawn.  But hubby had caught him doing it a third time already after being explained the harm it would cause.   These are not huge things, but frustrating as these are things he did while we were home.  I was doing laundry and in the basement when he went outside.  Everytime I think we can let up on the supervision on Erik he gets into things.   I so want to be able to leave him home alone, but with an extended amount of time at home unsupervised, I am concerned about what would happen.  So I am glad we did indeed hire a staff person.   I am sad that we need a staff person, but relieved that we have found someone.   Her name is Ashleigh and should start working on Thursday, hopefully. 

    My hubby was pretty frustrated with Erik so I asked Erik to stay in his room until supper.   He is grounded for this evening and tomorrow.   On top of the things he did, he also lied numerous times.   I wish he would realize it is not worth it.  I guess we need to realize we live a one step forward, two steps back sort of life and keep carrying on.   When speaking to Erik he said he did these things as he was bored.  He does do these type of things when he gets bored.  Now it is getting warmer so having him out in the yard, you have to keep a good eye on him.   I had Erik make a list of things he could do if he was bored and had him hang it on the wall in his room.   I really need to think of ways to keep him from being bored when he is home this summer.  Hmmm......  We are looking into a volunteer job and getting a membership to the YMCA for him.  Hopefully the staff person we hired will have great ideas and be good at keeping him busy. 

    I was going to go into my office for a little bit this afternoon, but I guess it is best if I stay around home.   I am babysitting my niece gain today and Tommy has his friend over to play as well. 

    I am off to start making supper and make some mushroom swiss burgers and nachos and dip!

  • I have much to chat about, but I need to get showered and get my haircut this morning.   Have a great day and I will update this afternoon!  

  • Yesterday.....

    I was glad to have be the one to come home from work early yesterday.  Since I was home I was able to get the house cleaned up.  I changed sheets and mopped floors, etc.   I of course stayed up way too late.  Oh well..what is new.  Sleep is so over-rated, right?

    Today ....

    I was home to meet Erik's bus again today and did interviews with Erik and Faith.   We interviewed three people to work with Erik after school and in the summer.    Erik assisted in the interviews and selected one person to work with him.   Luckily for me he selected the same person that I thought would be good with him.  We interviewed 2 college age girls and one guy.   Faith will offer the girl the job and hopefully she accept the position and is committed to working with Erik for at least one year.

    So soon life will be a little easier in regards to stretching my time between so many commitments.   What a relief!

  • Yesterday.....

    I worked for 8 hours yesterday and I completed 5 home visits.  It was a good day!   I really needed to work during the holiday.   I will take the 8 hours of holiday off another time when I need to.  I was really tired when I got home and cold.  So I curled up in bed and watched TV with Tommy most of the evening.   I had put supper in the crockpot before going to work in the morning so hubby had supper ready when I got home.   After my little evening nap, I got up and worked on figuring out the Zune that Josh had picked up for me.  I loaded one book on tape on it so far.  

    Today.....

    I had to be at work very early this morning to present at the housing committee.   I came home after my last homevisit.  I am so tried.  I took a little nap and now Erik is home so I have a number of things to get done.   I also need to pick up Tommy from school.  

    TUESDAY TO DO AROUND THE HOUSE:

    • Wash clothes (uniforms/work clothes)
    • Clean out Freezer - upstairs
    • Clean Kitchen/Dishes/Floor, Etc
    • Package Lettuce
    • Print Menus
    • Update Checkbook
    • Clear Dining Table
    • Complete Busy Bee Paperwork
    • Bathe Teddy
    • Pick up My Bedroom/Sweep
    • Clean Upstairs bathroom

    Tomorrow - 

    I work in the morning and need to be home to meet Erik's bus again.   We also have three final interviews scheduled for tomorrow.  My friend, Faith has already interviewed these people and we are doing the final selection for staff to work in our home with Erik tomorrow hopefully.   I will then submit our request for a criminal background check and hopefully they can start next week once that clears.  I really look forward to being able to work 5 days a week and not come home early each day.  It is a busy time at work and I am struggling to get everything done that I need. 

    I am going to a conference the end of March here in the cities, plus the kids have Spring Break in March so I have to take a week off or at least I have to be home during the day and will probably work in the evening at my office each day once my hubby gets home.  

    I am really looking forward to the end of April.   I have the Children's Mental Health Conference for three days at the end of April.   The conference is on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday.    I am going up on Friday afternoon and staying alone in the hotel over the weekend!  YEAH!!!   I do this each year and it is such a treat!   I take my computer with and many books and relax for a few days.  I usually go shopping for one afternoon and buy work clothes for the upcoming season.   I feel like I really really need it this year!   I was evening thinking of adding another day, but couldn't be that selfish.   Hubby will have the kids alone during that time, but thankfully it will be over a weekend that Erik is at his mothers.   Last year I had a whole day where I never left the room.  I ordered food and drink from room service and read and napped all day.   I read 4 books last year while in Duluth.   The conference is very good and informational as well.   About 6 of my co-workers will be coming up there and joining on Sunday for the conference.   The conference is in Duluth and I even lucked out this year and have a room with a lake view.   AAAAHH...... I can't wait...I so need a break!!!

    Well time to conquer my to do list for today.  Have a great afternoon!

     

  • New Toy....

     Josh picked me up a new toy tonight!   He had a coupon for best buy for 12% off that expired today.   He knew that I had been wanting to buy a Zune, so he used his coupon to buy me one!   I of course will be paying him back, but what a fun thing!   I am working on learning how to load it.  It is alot easier to add books on CD to it.  I can also can put podcasts, pictures, videos and tv and movies on it.   I am not sure exactly how to add the recorded TV shows and movies, but I am sure Josh will figure that all out for me!!!    So far it seems really cool!

    zune2

  • Supper is in the crockpot and now it is time for me to head to work.  I had to switch meals around a bit on menu since I didn't get the chicken out last night.   OOOPS.....  That is the best part of making menus.  I already had the ingredients and recipes for 14 meals.  So all I had to due to switch a couple of meals around.

    So tonight we will  be having Italian Veggie and Pasta Soup with Bread Sticks.   Easy enough......

    I am off to work.  Hubby is up with Tommy.  Josh is sleeping in catching up on his sleep.   He needed an extra day off.