Month: November 2008

  • Cookie Exchange Recipes for 2008

    http://www.bhg.com/recipe/cookies/white-chocolate-cherry-shortbread/   - Magnuson Cookie Sale/ Cookie Exchange
    10 Dozen for Cookie Sale

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Berry-Mini-Breads - 8 loaves for Magnuson Cookie Sale

     

  • Happy Thanksgiving Eve!!   I hope everyone has plans for a wonderful time of food, family and friends this Thanksgiving.   We thought we were having a quiet Thanksgiving at home, but have been blessed with my brother joining us as well.   My brother will be coming from Rapid City, SD to spend the holiday with us.  He will be here on Thanksgivng afternoon.   He also works in the IT field and has a server he is bringing for Joshua.  

    Life is busy as always at our house.  Last week, Thursday morning we received a call from our neighbor that her hubby need to go to the hospital.  My hubby went over there and took them to the hospital.  Her hubby had a heart ache and was still having pain as hubby drove him to the hospital.   His wife does not drive and we try to help them out as much as possible.   I went over to see them last night. Her hubby had open heart surgery yesterday morning and seems to be doing well.   He should be home from the hospital in a week. 

    Thursday evening I had book group.  Sometimes I think I am too sensitive.  A member made a comment to me and I was uncomfortable the rest of the night.  I do enjoy the group but we have a number of new memebers so it is different getting comfortable around everyone.   That is something that is just hard for me.  I know it is my own insecurities, but I still struggle with it.   

    Friday I went to Tommy's school and sorted scripts and then he had his Thanksgiving Feast at school.  I joined him for the Feast and came back to pick him up to go to the Dentist later that afernoon.  

    Saturday morning we were up early and headed to the Asian Market in St Paul.   I had promised hubby and Josh that I would make my egg rolls for them.   Josh and his friend, Amy came over to roll eggrolls.   It was great having many hands to get the rolling done.  We made about 150 egg rolls.   It is a favorite treat in our home.   I usually make them once or twice  year.  My BIL also helped roll.   He also bought us a huge deep fat fryer from his work.  It sure make the eggrolls come out so much better this time!

    Sunday was grocery day and swimming lessons.  This week is a short week at work and that is good and bad.  Good in that I rather be at home than at work and bad in that I have so much to do at work.  Friday the electricians finally came to start the work on our house.  They put in the outlet for my new cooktop and started on the garage a bit on Friday.   On Monday they were here all day working.  They put in overhead light fixtures in all the bedrooms.  Our house was built in a time when the style was to not have over head lights at all.   We still do not have overhead lights in the living room.  If I can afford that at a later time I think we will have those put in.   Our bedroms are so nice with the overhead lights.  It is really nice in Tommy's room as I will be able to see to paint his mural so much better.   They also put a overhead light and fan in our bathroom.  

    Tuesday we had Tommy's conferences at school.  He is doing well at school academically.  The teacher did say that he does get too excited and silly at times.   He is a very high energy little boy at times.   Last night  we really did nothing!  We went to bed early and watched tv and relaxed.  

    Today....I had planned and hoped to sleep in.  Hubby's alarm went off for him to go to work.  I got up and took my dogs out and then I crawled back into bed.  Then the electrician came to work.  They had told us they would not be returning until next week Monday.  He said he thought the scheduler had called, but they had not.  So I quickly showered and dressed and the electrician is at work again today.  He wants to finish the upstairs bathroom and put in our smoke and carbon monoxide detectors in.  

    Erik is still sleeping, which is good I guess.  I am home today as Erik has no school and he has an appointment at the counseling center to have psychological testing completed.  His disablity certification is up for renewal so I need to be able to give updated info to the state review board to see if he continues to qualify for services.   I had thought that everyone was going with for the appointment , but it seems to only be me taking Erik now.   So that will be most of my day as they need to complete IQ testing and adaptive functioning testing. 

    Well that is what has been going on in our little lives!!

    Wishing you and yours a Happy Thanksgiving!!

    Jen C

  • Leftover Turkey Recipes

    Do you have a standby recipe for the day after Thanksgiving?  Our standby has always been Thanksgiving in a pan, but this year I would like to try this one as well.

    Gobble Good Turkey Casserole

    • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
    • 1 can cream of celery soup
    • 1 package onion soup mix
    • 1 cup rice
    • 1 1/2 cups milk
    • 2-3 cups leftover turkey

    Combine all ingredients in a large casserole dish. Bake covered 30-45 minutes at 350°For until bubbly.

     

  • Menu November 23rd – December 7th

     

    Sun 23 – Pork Loin

     

    24th – Spaghetti/ Meatballs and Garlic Bread

     

    25th – Breakfast – French Toast/Eggs/ Sausage

     

    26th – Pork Chops and Rice http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/pork.htm#Baked%20Pork%20Chops

     

    27th- Thanksgiving – Turkey

    Simple Turkey

    Notes: Turkey is on sale this time of year for around 89 cents a pound in my area. However I urge you to look for a grocery store that will give you a free turkey in exchange for purchasing a certain amount of groceries. This will help your bill greatly.

    1 14-15 pound turkey

    1 stick margarine, softened

    Bay leaves

    Adobo, to taste

    1 carrot, chunked

    1 stalk celery, chunked

    1 onion, quartered

    1 green apple, quartered

    ½ C. water

    Heat oven to 500 degrees. Wash the turkey and pat dry (save the bags of parts for your gravy). In the turkey cavity place all your vegetables. Separate the skin carefully from the turkey and place bay leaves and slices of half of the margarine under the skin. Rub the outside of the turkey with the rest of the margarine. Season to taste with adobo. Place turkey breast side up in a roasting pan. Put water in pan around the bird not over, you don’t want to wash away the margarine or seasoning. Cover turkey tightly with foil, removing the foil about 1 hour before turkey is done to brown the skin. Cook turkey at 500 degrees for 30 minutes, turn oven down to 325 and cook for 3-4 hours or until done, a meat thermometer inserted into the thigh without touching the bone should read 180 degrees when bird is fully cooked. Let turkey rest for 30 minutes before serving.

     

    Mashed Potatoes http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/vegs%20&%20sides.htm#PARTY_POTATOES

    Green Bean Casserole

    http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/vegs%20&%20sides.htm#GREEN%20BEAN%20CASSEROLE

     

    Candied Sweet Potatoes

    2 (28 oz) cans sweet potatoes

    1/2 stick margarine, cut into slices

    1/2 C. brown sugar

    1 bag mini marshmallows

    Drain potatoes and place in a baking dish, place margarine and brown sugar on top and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Top with marshmallows and place back in oven for about 5 more minutes or until marshmallows brown on top.

    Cranberry Jelly

    Olives

    Stuffing-Dressed Up

    2 boxes of stuffing mix like Stove top

    1 huge onion, sauteed

    4 stalks celery, sauteed

    1 C. dried cranberries

    1 lb. sausage, cooked

    Prepare stuffing according to package directions, before serving stir in other ingredients.

     

    Gravy – Jarred

     

    Pie – Carmel Apple Pie http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/cakes.htm#PECAN_APPLE_PIE

    Pumpkin Pie –Cool Whip

     

    28th – Honey Roasted Pork Roast –Veggie

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/01/honey-roasted-pork-loin.html

    Oven Potato Wedges http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/vegs%20&%20sides.htm#OVEN%20POTATO%20WEDGES

     

     

    29th – LEFTOVERS

     

    30th – Beef Enchiladas/ Spanish Rice

     

    1st - Ravioli with Sausage

     

    2nd – Chops and Rice (ranch)

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/11/creamy-ranch-pork-chops.html

     

     

    3rd – Baked Chicken Cordon Blue/ Potatoes/Veggie

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/02/baked-chicken-cordon-bleu.html

     

     

    4th – Breakfast - Pancakes/ Eggs/ Sausage

     

    5thMeatball Subs (10/12) and Chips

     

    6th - Homemade Chicken Soup x 2 (Rotisserie Chickens to the Rescue Cookbook Pg 99) and Grilled Cheese

     

    7th – Chili x 2 (sour cream and Cheese/ green Onions)

    http://jasmine1931.tripod.com/Cooking/crockpot.htm#VERSATILE_SLOW-COOKER_CHILI _

     

     

  • Menu Plan Monday.....

    In a runt on what to cook???  Head over to Laura's site "I'm an Organizing Junkie " and see what the many participates on Menu Plan Monday are having this week!!

     

    Last week, we found some new family favorites!!  We likes the hamburger soup

    and the Easy Parmesan Chicken.

    Melt in Your Mouth Chicken -  (was too watery so will remake with less liquid) 

    Bake Potato Soup (VERY GOOD!! - Restarant quality according to hubby)

     

     

     

     

    Menu Planning November 17th - November 23rd

    Monday - Frozen Ravioli / Sauce / Sausage-

     

    Tuesday - Homemade Chicken Soup x 2 (Rotisserie Chickens to the Rescue Cookbook Pg 99) and Grilled Cheese

     

    Wed -  Filled Chicken Breasts (buy 4 more)/ Boxed Pasta/ Veggie

     

     

    Thursday –

    *

    *Hash Brown Soup

    *

    *1 sauteed onion (from freezer)

    *3 cans chicken broth

    *1 large bag frozen Hash Browns

    *1 can Cream of Celery Soup (substitutions)

    *1 can Cream of Chicken Soup (substitutions)

    *1-1/2 cups milk

    *1 pound Velveeta Cheese

    Combine onion and broth, bring to boil. Add hash browns, bring to boil. Add soups (don't dilute) and milk, bring to boil. Add Cheese. Heat until cheese melts. Optional, serve with bacon bits on top.

    Dinner Rolls

     

    Fri – Movie Night - Hamburger/ Fries/

     

    Sat - Enchiladas Meat

    Beef Enchiladas

    *2 lbs. ground beef (from freezer)

    *3 tablespoons vinegar

    *3 garlic cloves minced

    *1 1/2 tablespoon chili powder

    *1 1/2 tsp salt

    *1 package corn tortillas (24)

    *2 cans Enchiladas Sauce

    *1 cup refried beans (from below)

    *2 cups Sharp Cheddar Cheese shredded

    Mix thawed (cooked) ground beef from freezer with vinegar, garlic, chili powder and salt. On your tortilla spread a light coat of refried beans down the middle, top with beef mixture and then cheese.  Tri fold and place tri fold down in 9x13 pan.  Once your pan is full pour a can of sauce on top and sprinkle with cheese.  This recipe will make two pans.  One can of sauce for each pan. Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes.

    Adapted from Betty Crocker, submitted by Lisa H.

    Spanish Rice

    *3 T. olive oil

    *1 medium onion chopped

    *1 clove garlic minced

    *1 green pepper chopped, seeded

    *1 c. long grain rice (or brown rice* for healthier version)

    *2 c. chicken broth (if you are using brown rice add extra water)

    *2 T. tomato paste

    *1/2 t. cumin

    Saute onion, garlic, and green pepper in oil until transparent. Add rice and brown until lightly browned. Mix the rest of the ingredients and add to pan. Cover and cook 20-25 minutes (longer, closer to 45 minutes, for brown rice).

    Sun – 23rd GROCERY DAY - Pork loin and Baked Potatoes/ Veggie

     

    *****************************************************************

    Ideas for Next Menu

     

    http://thefrugalmomblog.com/2008/08/family-recipebaked/ - Baked Ziti

    http://frommommyskitchen.blogspot.com/2008/03/sour-cream-noodle-bake.html 

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/11/creamy-ranch-pork-chops.html

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2007/12/feta-and-bacon-stuffed-chicken-breasts.html

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/02/baked-chicken-cordon-bleu.html

    http://thematzats.blogspot.com/2008/01/honey-roasted-pork-loin.html

  • Finished another book.....

    More Than it Hurts You - Darin Strauss - (4/5)

    Josh Goldin is a happily married TV airtime salesman with an eight-month-old son. When baby Zack is treated twice for mysterious and life-threatening symptoms, the head of a pediatric ICU, Dr. Darlene Stokes, tells Child Protective Services that she thinks Josh's wife, Dori, suffers from Munchausen syndrome, whereby the afflicted injure their children deliberately to draw attention to themselves. The Goldins' ensuing battle to keep Zack provides grist for public debate about issues ranging from parents' rights to race.

    Next up -

    The Story of Edgar Sawtelle -David Wroblewski - this is a pretty long book.  I need to have it done by book group next month.   

    Cool Resource...

    I finally decided against purchasing the Kindle.  I decided that even though it is WAY cool, I really don't have time to actually read book.  I still get through most of my books by listening to them.   So I decided to use Audible.com  This is a very cook website. 

    Audible. com is a site where you can download audiobooks to your MP3 player or IPOD, etc.   I have a gold membership which means I can download one book a month free for my monthly fee of $14.95.  They were having a special so the first three months is only $7.95 each.     

    Will this save me money???  Yes, to some extent.   This weekend I bought the book The Story of Edgar Sawtelle at Target.  I am unable to get this book at the library as the wait is too long and I need to have it done for book group.   I paid about 17.00 for the book.  I also decided to get it on audible.com since it is a very long book and I will need to listen to it to get it done by next month.   So had I only bought it at audible.com, I would have saved about 3.00 and I could get it done since I will be listening to it.   I might be able to sell my book to someone else in my book group. 

    So if you enjoy audiobooks, check out audible.com

  • More of my night......

    I went down to Timber Lodge Steak House for supper and my guilty pleasures contiued there as well!!!   The special of the night was steak and lobster.   Oh my...how naughty does that sound???  Well, yes, of course that is what I ordered!  

    I came back to my room with a very full tummy and took a very long, hot bath!!   I think I was in there for over an hour soaking and reading my book.    I just finished my book for book group next week and now I am going to work on setting up the voting system for my in real life book group.   We are going to be selecting our picks for the first half of next year at our next meeting.  

    Then I think I will either work on my website for a bit or start my net book.  The night is still young!!   yeah, I know I am pathetic.  It doesn't take much to make me happy in life, but then again that is a good thing.   What a blessed life to find such joy in the trivial things. 

    Finished Reading:

    Here If You Need Me: A True Story - Kate Braestrup - 3.5/5

     

     

  • My Night of Gulity Pleasure.....

    What a title, eh??   Well don't get too excited, it is me we are talking about here.  LOL!!   My hubby is so great, he let me have a little night away this evening.   I had a meeting in Duluth today and got done with my meeting around 4:00.  Instead of driving the 2.5 hours home, I am staying over night!!   What a wonderful gift.   These small breaks are amazing at rejuvinating me.  

    Every once in a while a few hours alone is fabulous!!  I can spend all the time I want on the computer and working on my various projects.   I can read a book for hours on end, take a long hot bath.   So those are all the guilty pleasures on my list for tonight.  

    I just checked into my room and it is very nice and sooo quiet.   I just love having silence in my life.  I even got a room with a window as I thought I would have an interior room.   I stopped at Target and did a bit of Christmas shopping and bought the book we are reading for book group next month.  

    I think I am going to head down stairs and have an early supper and then curl up in bed with my book for the evening!!   No laundry, dishes, cooking, or childcare for me tonight.  

    Isn't my hubby just the best...............

     

  • We are almost done with our Christmas Shopping.  We finished up everything but one joint gift to get for Tommy and Erik.   We were also about 100 dollars under budget so we went out for a very nice lunch!   It was a very nice day out together.      We even added a couple of additional people to buy gifts for.   Since my BIL is lving with us, we bought him and his son a few things since they will probably be celebrating the holidays with us. 

    Our driveway is all done!   It looks great, we are very happy with it.   As I predicted the electrician did not show up.  I am losing my patience with him. 

    Jen C