July 25, 2011

  • Is Your Bedroom an Oasis??????????????

    I was reading an article on Flylady.net about how your bedroom should be an oasis.  Well, my bedroom is where I dump things without a home.   I decided on my last vacation day, I needed to spend time making our bedroom feel more like an oasis.  I still have areas I need to de-clutter in each room, but this is a nice improvement overall in the condition of our bedrooms. 

    I forgot to take before pictures of my bedroom.   I actually woke up this morning and looked around my room and thought how my bedroom didn’t feel relaxing at all.  I started thinking I would just take care of the pile of magazines next to the bed.   Then maybe I would just clean off my bedside table…..and on and on until my room was pretty clean.   I didn’t clean hubby’s shelves or bedside table.   Hopefully, I will be able to get him to do that soon. 

    BEDROOM AFTER PICTURES:

    003
     A manageable pile of library books on the bedside table
    and the book I am currently reading on the headboard.   I do try
    to make my bed each morning.  I changed my quilt and bedding.
    I love the first night sleeping on clean sheets! 

    004 

    Good thing I cleaned out the corner between the dressers. I found
    a Vikings jersey that I had bought for Tommy’s birthday last year,
    which I forgot to give to him.   Luckily, it will still fit him. 

    005 
    When I clean I totally clean off a area or shelf and then sort the items
    into categories.  I use the categories of toss, donate, return to another
    area of house, and belongs here!  This is my second “return to
    another area of house” box from my bedroom.   I also had one garbage bag full
    of toss items from my bedroom as well. 

    TOMMY’S ROOM BEFORE:

    006 
    The dresser is where I put things of Tommy’s that I find in the house. 
    I guess Tommy never got around to putting things away.

    007 
    Actually, Tommy’s room was not too bad. You can see alot of floor and
    that is generally not the case!

    TOMMY’S ROOM AFTER:

    008 
    I cleaned the floor up and tossed alot of junk out the room.
    I decided not to tackle the shelving unit today. I didn’t want to
    spend my entire day cleaning bedrooms. 

    009 
    His dresser is still a bit cluttered, but he likes to display some
    favorite things.

    010 
    Bedding, including comforter all washed!! I don’t think I have
    shared pictures of the completed murals I painted in Tommy’s room.
    I am finally done painting them just in time for him
    to want a MN sports themed room now.

    011 
    4 bags of stuff to be donated! 

    I love before and after pictures.  Makes me feel like I accomplished something.  I also look at the after more closely in a picture then in person.  I know I have more to do, but I am looking forward to spending some time in my oasis with a candle burning, reading my book! 

    I hope you find your oasis from the chaos of day to day life.  We all deserve a bit of pampering to rejuvenate our energies!

    Be Well………..

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *