Month: February 2006

  • The ambulance just came to my neighbors house.  He has been sick for a while and having kidney failure.  I pray he will be ok.  Very sad for us all.  Hubby and I will go over in a bit and see if his wife needs anything.  I hope their children are able to get here to support her very soon.

  • SATURDAY/SUNDAY...........

    Yesterday I did go mall walking.  I was running late so I only walked 2 miles.  I should go again today and might do that if I get things done around the house here. 


    Yesterday we went to the library and spent a fair amount of time there.  Came home and checked the mail and took a check to put in the bank.  Now I can pay one more bill.  After that hubby and our neighbor, Tim work on his computer the rest of the day.   Max, our neighbors son was over as well so Tommy had a playmate for the day.  That was great!  We played board games, hide and seek, play doh and had some outside time.  It was good!  


    Tommy went asleep early and I got up and read for a bit.  Then Josh and Amy came upstairs and we watched a scary movie, The Exorcism of Emily Rose.   It was pretty good.  Josh, Amy and I were all three huddle together on the couch watching it.  It was alot of fun.  I enjoy that my oldest son still will spend time with his mother.   I think Amy called him a Momma's Boy.....LOL!!  Oh well....Erik was in bed  and hubby was working on the computer with Tim.  I stayed up until after midnight, which is rare!


    TODAY


    Church in the morning.  As usual a mad rush to get everyone ready and to church in time.  I would love a peaceful morning on Sunday's but that isn't in the cards.  Then we came home and Amy made a bag lunch for work and I made brunch for everyone else. We had pancakes, sausage and eggs.   Then since Tommy was in rare form for church we decided he probably needed a nap today.   He is napping now, but I will be waking him up soon.  Erik went to play at a friends house for an hour.  Hubby and Tim are working on the computer.


    I am going to get a few things done around the house and start thinking about supper, which will be.....


    Cheddary Chicken & Broccoli



    • 1 package Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Shells, baked (we will use 6)
    • 2 jars chicken gravy
    • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
    • 2 cups cooked chicken (from yesterday)
    • 2 cups frozen broccoli cuts, thawed
    • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

    In a saucepan, combine gravy, lemon juice, broccoli, and chicken. Heat, stirring frequently. Serve in pastry shells with cheese sprinkled on top.


    Menus 4 Moms recipe Glazed Carrots


    • 1 bag baby carrots
    • 2/3 c. honey
    • 6 tbsp. butter

    Cook carrots in a small amount of water until tender crisp. Drain water, add honey and butter. Cook on med. low until carrots are glazed, turning carrots once or twice.


    Hopefully I will get some time to read again today......nice to relax and read on the weekends!   Hope you are having a great weekend!

  • SATURDAY......

    I slept in......that felt great.   I seem to always be so tired!   I  am going to make sure I go to the mall this morning and walk.  I really need to get back to doing that twice a week.  I haven't been able to do it much on Wednesday mornings since I usually have a couple of Dr appointments a day and need to get groceries. 


    Last night Hubby, Erik, Tommy and I went to the Winter Festival.  It was a great time.  Hubby and I got to chat with so many of our friends.   That is what I love about our church.....knowing so many people!!  It was great!!   We are so blessed with so many great friends!


    We even won a door prize, a box of Spiderman stickers.  Once we came home it was bath time for Tommy and bed for everyone!   Hubby and I were so tired!  


    Well I am off to shower and get to the mall to walk!   Have a great day!!

  • BUSY....BUSY.......

    Ok Mom....don't freak, I am fine!  Just got busy again.  LOL!!   I am having my lunch here at work so I thought I would quickly update. 


    TUESDAY....worked late...........


    I also saw my Pulmonologist on Tuesday.  The appointment went pretty good.   I am continuing to decrease my prednisone.   I am only taking it every other day.  Let me tell you it is a tough thing to do.  After you take it for so many years, you have NO energy without it.   The Dr said that will get better.  I sure hope so.   I certainly can't give up caffeine right now.  That seems to be the only thing keeping me going.  With my current plan I will be off of Prednisone in the beginning of April.  I will see the pulmonologist again at the end of April to check my breathing off of prednisone.  She also took me off of one medication, Seravent, so I hope to get off a few more as well. 


    WEDNESDAY - I actually had to come into the office this Wednesday.  I usually work from home.  I had a meeting and was here from 9 to 12.   Then I headed home and picked up groceries on the way home.  I was very very happy with my groceries shopping.  I only spent $58.00 on groceries for the week and I was even having a party on Thursday and needed to make appetizers, etc. 


    After getting groceries, I had to lay down for a bit.  My back is causing me a great deal of pain these days.  I need to get that x-ray done to see if it is fractured or not.  I just haven't had time to do that yet.  But the L2 vertebrae where they suspect the fracture is where my pain is so we will see.  


    When hubby got home we all headed to church for supper.  Afterwards, Tommy, hubby and I went home.  Hubby and I were so tired we all curled up in bed and watched Casper the Friendly Ghost.  I fell asleep....LOL!!


    THURSDAY - Busy day.....I took Tommy to preschool in the morning.  Then I came home and cleaned and made food for my BookGroup.  At about 1:00 I was all ready for the party so I worked for a few hours.  Then at 3:00 we had Erik's IEP meeting.  I am not entirely sure how it went.  I am taking a wait and see attitude and trying to get my hubby to do the same.  He is not entirely happy but hopefully things will change.  We ere both very thrilled that the principal was in attendance and seemed to be making things happen.  We will see........


    The endocrinologist called concerning my blood tests he did.  My glucose level was fine (diabetic when I was pregnant), but I continue to have an elevated white blood count.   So I went on the Internet and searched high white blood count.  Reason can be infection or leukemia.  YIKES>...so I read on more and to more site and find that some medications, such as prednisone can affect your white blood count.  That darn prednisone really can mess with a lot of thing!  So I had to make an appointment with my primary Dr to follow up on this concern....blah...blah...blah....  I am so sick of going to Drs!  So next week Wed, I have two Dr appointments now...one with the gastro Dr for follow-up and my primary too.  Yep, that is why I only work 1/2 day on Wed....got have time for my other full-time job, the professional patient.  I can't wait until I am off the prednisone and these concerns are under control. 


    Then we came home and I finished getting ready for Book Group and got Erik going on his homework while hubby went to get Tommy.  Book Group was a good turn out 8 of the 9 members were there and we even talked about the book for a bit.  LOL!!   Everyone stayed until about 9:30 and had a nice time!  Syd (friend) and I stayed up chatting until about 10:30 after book group.  It always such a great time..what a great group of women! 


    FRIDAY - Working today.   I had to call Health Partners again today.  They took over the Flexible Spending Account for my employer and they have been terrible.  I called them about a deposit they sent me a remittance advise for, but it never showed up in my account.   They investigated and found out that a number of peoples deposits didn't make it.  Hmmmm...they are issuing my a check in the next day or so.  This makes budgeting so hard!  We have a lot of medical  expenses just with medications and co-pays, especially me!  I never have any trouble using up my medical money!


    I have a homevisit this afternoon and they I am heading home to join my family at the Winter Fest at the Church.  That is the only excitement we have planned so far for this weekend.  Erik needs to earn his fun, just like the school said yesterday.  We have been already doing that.   He will be starting a new checklist next week and if he gets a good amount of points he will earn a movie night or something fun on the weekend. We can rent a movie and make popcorn.   When Erik just gets to do those things without doing well in school or even trying is NOT helping him.  He has no reason to try or care.  We are very firm with this, I wish everyone would be.  They are only hurting Erik by not holding him accountable.  The school is right on that!  He should earn these things by doing his work in school and trying not just let him do whatever.





    IN response to a few comments:


    Moosetwang - here is the recipe for Tater Tot HOtdish...my family likes it!  I think it is a Midwest thing!


    Menus 4 Moms recipe  Tater Tot Casserole



    • 1- 32. oz package frozen Tater Tots
    • 1/2 lb. browned ground beef (from Wednesday)
    • 1- 16 oz. container sour cream
    • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
    • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
    • 1 can cream of celery soup
    • 1- 4 oz. can mushrooms, drained
    • 1 pkg. sauteed onions (from freezer)
    • 1- 6 oz. can French fried onions

    Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a 9x13 casserole pan. Place frozen tater tots in bottom of pan. Sprinkle beef over tater tots. In a bowl, mix sour cream,cheese, soups, mushrooms, and sauteed onions. Pour over beef. Top with French fried onions. Bake for 50-60 minutes.


    And you are so right...when I opened the car insurance renewal and they wanted 5100.00 for our three cars, I nearly fainted.  The good news is we found a new agent and policy and saved a ton!   We are very happy!


    IMMAX3 - Organization.....it is a process.  I was terrible in my first marriage and each year I get little better at home and work.  And of course I have those times when I fall off the ladder too!


    As for the Million Little Pieces.....the writing is difficult to read and certainly not great!  But since I am a social worker I really like to study and learn about people and their thought processes.  The funny thing about the book is it was written about his experience in rehab here in the MN, so we knew some of the places he was talking about and weren't exactly happy with his descriptions.  But over all most members of my book group liked the book and took it as fiction.  One member refused to read if on principal since it wasn't true....


    YankeeSweetheart20 - I am glad the flylady stuff is working for you so well.  Keep at it!!!  RYC:  Josh is my oldest son and he is graduating from High School in June.    


    Thanks to all of you that support me during this weird time in my health.  It had been very depressing for me to deal with the new diagnosises of cataracts, glaucoma and osteoporosis.  Disease and aliments of a much older woman than I.   Your all great!


    WOW....how is that for an update....I am off to get back to work.  My lunch is all gone!

  • Planning.....the Key to Sanity......

    While eating my supper I completed my menu and shopping list for tomorrow:


    WEDNESDAY - Eat at Church


    THURSDAY - Hubby taking Kids out - Book Group at Our House


    BookGroup Menu
    Cheese Fondue and Panera Bread
    WW Layered Bean Dip with Veggies and Chips
    Ranch Dip for Veggies too??
    Water/Coke/Dt Coke/Lemonade
    Dessert:  Fudgy Chocolate Dessert from Light and Tasty Mag


    FRIDAY - Eating at Church for the Winter Festival (pancakes)


    SATURDAY = BBQ Pork Sandwiches and Veggies and Potatoes


    SUNDAY - Cheddary Chicken and Broc with Glazed Carrots


    MONDAY - Hubby Cooks - Tacos


    TUESDAY - Hubby Cooks - Tater Tot Casserole (I will put together before I go to work and put in fridge)


    WEDNESDAY - Start Over - Plan Menu and Shopping List


    Time to head home.....have a great night!

  • BREATHE....BREATHE.....

    Ok..I can't believe February is almost over!   I have so much to do and coming up....I am stressing a bit about it today!!  I can do it...I can do it....Make a list Jen, and breathe!!!


    MARCH - I have to present at a conference for work
    Attend MSSA CONFERENCE FOR WORK
    Spring Break to Florida with all the kids.  Did  I mention I hate to fly!  


    APRIL - Hopefully take some time off and finish painting my Living Room!! - Work on Josh's CD of his life - Scan things for scrapbook! No Pressure!


    MAY  - April 28th to May 2nd - In Duluth for a Conference for work (Taking Josh's Scrapbook with and will hopefully finish!)


    JUNE - Josh's Graduation - Josh's Last mission Trip.  The more I say, Josh's Last...the more I want to cry!   Lisa's Open House!


    JULY - Josh's Open House - about 100 people invited!


    Yeah, yeah...I know....don't sweat it...but I am a *Bit of a perfectionist so I sweat it!   I know it will all get done and will be great! - Yep...keep repeating that!!

  • Another Busy Week in our Home........

    MONDAY - DAY OFF


    TUESDAY



    • Tommy to preschool
    • Call Glass Co about windsheild
    • Appoint w/ Pulmonologist
    • Put $ in lunch accounts for Erik and Josh
    • Make Menu and Shopping List

    WEDNESDAY



    • Working in AM at Office for Mtg
    • Groceries on the way home
    • CHurch in Evening
    • Make Ice Cream Dessert and Dip for Book Group on Thurs
    • Clean Air Filters

    THURSDAY



    • HOME - Might work a couple of hours from home if I have time
    • Tommy to PReschool
    • Make the rest of the food for Book Group
    • Erik's IEP Meeting
    • Hubby taking boys out for supper
    • Book Group at my house - I love my book Group!

    FRIDAY



    • Working all day
    • Family Winter Fest at Church from 6 to 8:00

    Then comes the weekend!!!   Nothing planned so far for the weekend.  


    I just bought Shrine Circus tickets for Hubby and I to take Tommy to the circus.  Should be fun!  We went last year too.

  • Vacation Is Over......

    Back to work today.   It was so nice to have a long weekend.  We just really relaxed a lot and I finished reading my book for book group.  YEAH!!   I ripped one book on tape to MP3 player....more to do!   


    Yesterday was nice and I was lazy!   I put supper in the crockpot in the morning and didn't do much the rest of the day.   Our current insurance agent came over and brought a new quote for our insurance.   Our current insurance company wants $4000.00 to cover Josh for one year!   That is insane!  So we were looking for a new company.   We went over to a new agent and he found us a better deal, so we switched agents.  I did have to take Josh down to liability and comprehensive coverage only.  The collision coverage for him was WAY too expensive.   I will have to pay out of pocket to repair Josh's car if something happens.  Even the cheapest company we found wanted $1000.00 more a year to have collision insurance for Josh.    I am very glad to get that handled.  The bummer part is this new insurance company will only let you pay for 6 months premium at a time, but the great part is if you pay that in full they took 264.00 off our bill!   That is a good savings!  So luckily our state tax return came in and we could use that to pay 6 months of the car insurance.   We are still working on switching our house insurance over to a new company as well. 


    I also went to the Chiropractor yesterday.   I feel a bit better and my headache seems to be better.  Hubby and I sat down and earmarked our tax return.  We had enough to set aside money for monthly emergencies, car insurance, Mission Trip final payment, Christmas Money, City of WBL Bill and Graduation Party.   I really have no idea how much to set aside for the graduation party!   I am thinking I will just plan and buy like the block party since we will probably have about 100 people like the block party.   The chairs, tables and canopies cost about 300.00 by themselves.   It should be a fabulous time!!   I am so proud of my boy!  Then a few more years and we will be doing this for Erik.  At least I will really know what I am doing with his! 


    Last night Erik came home from his Mom's.   Josh was home after work and wanted to complete his tax returns.   This year he was doing his own so I had him do them with me there to answer questions and help.  He did fine and they will be ready to mail today.  He will get over 200.00 back.  He is excited about that.  He also will only have to pay $80.00 a month for his new insurance.  I pay a small portion of it for him each month as well. 


    TODAY - Tommy has preschool and I have an appointment with my pulmunologist this morning as well.    I hope she will be able to decrease my predisone dosage again.  I have alot to get done this morning before going to my Dr appointment.  I better get going.  Have a great day!


    FINISHED READING: 


    Millions Little Pieces - James Fry - 4/5


    This is a pretty good book.  One of my friends was offended by all the swearing, but not a problem for me.   There a couple of parts I wasn't sure would really happen.  There is a point where he has some major dental work done and has to have it done without any novacaine due to being in drug treatment.   I just think that is cruel and unusual treatment and not sure that would really happen.  The book bogged down a bit in the middle, not sure that was the book or me....never know!    Overall it was pretty good and an interesting look into a type of lifestyle I know nothing of.   Do I care if it is not really a true story.....nope, a story is a story. 

  • I was tagged by boclark.......


    Four Jobs I've Had:

    * grocery store clerk - Worked at RedOwl for 6 years
    * Direct Care Staff at State Hospital
    * Weekend Coordinator at Group Home 
    * Developmental Disabilities Social Worker


    Four Movies I Can Watch Over and Over:

    * Plain Truth
    * Grease
    * Jesus Christ Superstar
    * Lion King

    Four Places I've Lived:

    * Redfield, SD
    * Moorhead, MN
    * Buffalo, MN
    * Twin Cities, MN

    Four Shows I Like To Watch:

    * 30-Minutes Meal - Rachael Ray
    *  Clean Sweep
    * Judging Amy
    * SNL


    Four Foods That I Like:

    * Anything Chocolate
    * Guacamole
    *  Crab/Lobster
    * Alfredo Pasta



    Four Sites I Visit Everyday:

    * xanga
    * YahooMail
    * Wellsfargo.com
    * my work email



    Four places I'd rather be right now:

    * anywhere alone with my wonderful hubby
    * Curled up with a book...reading the day away
    * visiting with friends
    * browsing in a bookstore with an unlimited budget!


    Four Goals for this Year:
     
    * Reach my goal weight
    * Concentrate more on relatinship with Hubby
    * daily devoations
    * take time for me!



    Four Places I've been on vacation:

    * Sanibel Island, Florida
    * Black Hills, SD
    * Orlando, FLorida
    * San Fransico, CA



    Four Things I Want To Do Before I Die:

    * write a book 
    *  work as a professional organizer/ put on workshops
    *  see my children all stable, married and happy!
    *  travel with hubby


    Four People I'm Tagging:


    KELIOS


    HappySauders


    HappyLittle


    MsCaffiene Addict


     

  • SUNDAY.....

    What a wonderfully relaxing day it has been! I really don't plan on leaving the house until Tuesday morning.  


    LAST NIGHT - Tommy was asleep by 9:00 since he didn't have a nap.   Hubby moved him into his own bed and we watched a movie we rented from the library.  It was called Skeleton Key....sort of scary.   Hubby also watched the March of the Penguins, but I didn't see it as I was laying down with Tommy.   Josh worked until around 8;00 or so and then came home for a bit.   He then went over to Emma's house.  He was home around midnight.   I was actually still awake for once when he got home.  


    SUNDAY -  We are finally all healthy and we were able to attend church.  It was great to be back!   After church we came home and I made french toast, per hubby's request.  Josh and Amy had brunch with us before they both had to leave for work.   Amy got a job at a Presbyterian Homes place.  They have a restaurant there for the people that live there.  She waitresses there and really likes it!   I am very happy for her.  I think it is GREAT she has a job.  


    After Brunch I took a nap and Tommy decided he didn't need a nap.  That is fine because he will go to bed early then.   After I got up Tommy and I baked some blueberry muffins and I browned hamburger and made 4 pounds of taco meat for future meals.  An idea I which I would have thought of years ago!  Makes it easy for hubby to make supper when I work late. 


    Hubby and I have done a few loads of laundry today, but once Josh gets home and cleans his room I will have more to do!


    I do have a number of things I need to get done tonight and tomorrow.  I need to finish my book for book group on Thursday and figure out a menu as to what I am making for my friends!!  Hubby will take the boys out for supper while my book group is here.  A quick tidy of each room of the house is in order as well after I get supper cooking!  


    I guess I am off to make supper!  Have a great day!